Skip to content

Double Digits

December 24, 2008

I will probably eventually write some sort of “Cast of Characters” for this blog, but the basics – I have a mom and 23 year old sister Marisa that live in New York. My parents divorced when I was about 5, and my dad moved to Florida when I was about 11 or 12. He married my stepmother when I was 15ish. My little sister Madison was born on Christmas Eve in 1998.   Talia was born in 2001.

I remember my dad calling me to tell me Laurie was pregnant. I was absolutely floored. I remember hysterically crying – so many emotions, mostly fear and jealousy.  More importantly, I remember getting the call that Maddi was born. I was working at a costume/gift shop called August Moon. I was wearing some silly reindeer ears, a fishnet shirt thing and was standing behind the counter. I got the call that she was here, and that while she was full-term, she was only 4 lbs. , 7 oz. It was at that second that I realized that I loved this tiny little girl. It’s hard to explain.

Anyway, today she is 10. Ten years old. My tiny baby sister is an actual kid. Her life has been a little rough but she really is the sweetest, most thoughtful wonderful little girl on the planet. Most of my decisions in life have kept her in mind – what would she think of me, would she be proud, etc.  When I went through a really rough depression in my early twenties, it was Maddi’s picture that dragged me out of bed. She may never realize how much I love her, but I sure hope she does.

Erica and Madison 2007

Happy Birthday Maddigirl. I love you.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

