Skip to content

The Gallery of Awful Art – The Velvet Elvis

February 21, 2009
tags: ,

I consider myself to have a pretty decent aesthetic. I can appreciate some fine art, and even own and display some in my apartment (generally photographs or collage/mixed media). But I have an unabashed love of really bad art. The bad art in my apartment outnumbers the more refined pieces (for the purpose of “my life”, I am considering pictures of gargoyles refined – they are French).

I feel like – hey, I don’t own the apartment and I don’t have young, impressionable kids to embarrass yet, so I am going to enjoy and indulge my love of awful art. One day, when I have a den or spare room, I will put it there (next to the taxidermy). Some will even go to spare bathrooms, but for now – the walls of my tiny apartment.

What is bad art? I suppose it could be badly drawn pictures, but I kind of consider it art that is earnestly created, but could either make your eyes bleed or make you wonder if I have also covered my couch in plastic. Bonus points for unicorns. Anything involving a clown, or someone with a glistening tear is bad art, except clowns will not be found in my apartment.

I will feature a piece of awful art in my apartment once a week. Consider this the opposite of dooce‘s Daily Style.

To kick it off, I want you to behold the jewel in my collection.

Behold – The Velvet Elvis!!!

The Velvet Elvis

I know. I will let you absorb that for a moment. It’s what you see when you first come to our apartment.

It’s the best of all worlds. It combines my love of Elvis, with the awesomely absurd. And speaking of absurd

Our friend Abby gave us this painting, before we even moved out. It even came with the awesome frame. It was the first thing adorning the walls of our place, and it’s still my favorite. Frank gets really defensive when people make fun of it. It’s just that awesome.

Do you have anything in your home that just defies taste?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Frank permalink
    February 22, 2009 11:49 am

    I love that painting and I don’t even like Elvis that much.

  2. February 23, 2009 5:12 pm

    I insist on decorating my walls with my own art work which generally means weird collages. Then you have to deal with explaining to people that you don’t really think you’re talented, you just taped it there to avoid throwing out

  3. Kristin permalink
    February 24, 2009 1:27 pm

    You have a Velvis – That’s fantastic. Not a lot of people could pull that off. I was going to make a joke about the only thing in my apartment that defies taste is Brad……but it’s actually probably the lava lamp that I love.

  4. littlemisssarcasm permalink
    May 1, 2009 12:53 pm

    I beg to differ. That is the single most awesome piece in your entire apartment (for realsies).

  5. Foxie permalink
    January 4, 2011 11:23 am

    Maybe it is just me, but I can’t see why that painting is awful. I think it shows great skill on the part of the artist. If I were a fan of Elvis I would definitely want that painting on my wall, not merely for some perceived novelty effect, but because I consider it to be a very fine piece of art.

Trackbacks

  1. Gallery of Awful Art - The Chess Game « You Should Only Know
  2. The Gallery of Awful Art – Bathroom Gnomes « You Should Only Know

Leave a Reply

