Skip to content

The Gallery of Awful Art – Prancing Unicorns

March 3, 2009
tags: ,

Once in awhile, something so special comes along that you just have to sit up and take notice. Sometimes these things happen to you while doing laundry, and appear in the form of 80’s magical unicorns, in your laundry room’s “free crap” pile.

These unicorns are not pretty, but they are regal. If the pictures are blurry, it’s because no man-made camera could capture their unique magic.

Unicorn1

Oh, but this majestic beast has a friend, who offers a single rose as a token of its friendship (unicorns have no discernable gender):

Unicorn2

Together, they stay in their wooden prisons, in my livingroom – just above my couch. You will get a full sense of the honor bestowed upon them in next week’s update.

Unicorns at play

Man, unicorns are awesome.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2009 1:14 am

    I had an Aunt, by marriage, who was rather wealthy and knew NOTHING about what to buy kids for gifts. We could count on getting some rather, well, just not age appropriate, for birthdays and Christmas. One thing that I still have that she got me is a velvet/carpet?? painting of some bears in the woods. It is very dark and stretched into this wood frame. I’ll bet I was not even 11 when I got it. I still have it. I have hung it up in every apartment I have lived in and wouldn’t sell it for a million bucks! You would love it!

    • March 4, 2009 8:12 am

      That is a special, special gift. You are right, I would absolutely adore it. Bears! “Mixed Media”! Childhood horror. It has me written all over it. Enjoy it.

  2. March 4, 2009 11:07 am

    I’m sure that Andy Warhol would have some fabulous postmodern justification for all the awful art.

Leave a Reply

