Skip to content

Resume Resources and Tips

March 4, 2009

After writing this post about applying for a job, I have been meaning to write more about how to stand out, mistakes to avoid and tips for the person who has to sludge through all of the submissions.  And of course, the internet and blogosphere usually get to it before I do. I will still be adding some tips and tricks I have learned along the way, but for now – I just want to share some articles that I would have written myself, if I wasn’t so lazy.

I agree with most of what she has to say here – really focusing on giving a recruiter what they want and personalization. The two nitpicks I have are professional resume writers (send it around to enough friends, especially friends who have been put in the position of hiring people before, and you should be okay) and to send your information as two .pdf files.  While a back-up cover letter as a PDF may not be a bad idea, I really believe that your cover letter should be in the body of your email. Give them a reason to click! Also, make sure to check and see what the description specified. If they only want .doc files, your .pdf could be discarded without a click.

I can’t believe some of the things people send in resumes. Unsolicited writing samples, pictures, art portfolios in deviantART for a clerical position. I would also add “interests” here. Unless you have something that you think would stand out and get your foot in the door (having a hard time thinking of an example…) do not tell me you are into “hanging out”, “dancing”, “movies” or “clubbing”. I swear these are real-life examples.

Also, the forgetting fancy formatting is good advice, unless you are applying for a creative-y type job. Just, don’t go overboard.

The proofreading here is really important. There is nothing worse then telling a prospective employer that you are detial oriented. I may just be super-picky, but I know that whenever I have had to sift through resumes, the most basic sorting I did was get rid of anything with typos (after getting rid of anyone who didn’t follow any instructions I put in the job description). If the minor typo is in the obviously specfically crafted cover letter, and the rest of the resume was great – you may get a pass. But at the bare minimum, I want to hire someone who, before they send out a resume to every potential employer on the planet, knows enough to spellcheck, proofread and get a competent person’s opinion on their calling card. Believe me, after I get rid of all that junk, I still have plenty to look through. Don’t take yourself out of the running early because you made a silly mistake.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 10, 2009 9:43 am

    Thank you for the helpful information. I bookmarked your site, and I hope you keep up the good work on making your blog a success!

Leave a Reply

