Skip to content

Exercising Before I Realize I’m Awake

March 6, 2009
tags: ,

Because I was inspired by and promised a girl on the internet – I went to the gym this morning. I did about 20 minutes on the elliptical, on a harder setting than I am used to doing, and then did a quick 2 minute stretch – really more to bring my heart rate down. Then, I showered (with my own towel) and got dressed. I even got to my office much closer to “on time” than usual.

I have gone to the gym before in the morning before, and really enjoyed it (I mean, as much as someone who hates the gym can enjoy the gym), but I also find excuses not to go in the morning, and promise myself I will go at the end of the day. And then fail. And then get angry at myself. But for now, the gym pros and cons (absent is the whole healthy heart, body weight stuff) to help me remember I should stick with this (and maybe it will motivate someone else!)

Reasons Not To Go

  • It’s a pain to pick out clothing the night before – and having to stick with it
  • I have to schlep* a gym bag around on the subway, and then if I go out at night, there too
  • Waking up early
  • Nothing good on TV (I am not an iPod kind of girl)

Reasons To Go

  • Man, I feel awesome this morning. I got my workout done and I just feel like whatever I do today, at least I accomplished something
  • No more all-day guilt about the gym
  • Less time formulating excuses to not go to the gym
  • Showering in the morning
  • The first thing I heard when I walked in to the office was “Your hair looks great!” Apparently, blow-drying and not sleeping on my hair looks good
  • I already picked out my clothing the night before, so there are no last-minute outfit changes
  • I will most likely choose to eat better today, but if I don’t – that’s okay too
  • Getting ready in the morning was kind of nice. I took the time to calm down, and blow dry my hair and think about putting on makeup (which I didn’t have with me)

I think we know where this is headed. I have decided that if I go 3 times a workweek from today until the time I leave for vacation, I will reward myself upon my return with a gym locker rental. This should cut down on some of the annoyances of the schlepping*.

What are your work-out pros and cons?

*Yiddish Alert: To carry clumsily or with difficulty; To move slowly or laboriously. Do people actually use this term outside of Jews and New Yorkers? It’s such a part of my vernacular, that I didn’t realize it was Yiddish until a few years ago.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2009 1:07 pm

    Yay! I’m so glad you did it! GO YOU!

    PS. I say schlep all the time, and I’m not Jewish or a New Yorker.

  2. March 6, 2009 4:07 pm

    me too! I say it all the time. And I’m a hoosier!

  3. March 7, 2009 11:28 am

    Congrats! I need to start visiting my gym more often.

    I started to type out my own list of reasons to go, reasons to not go in response and then when i read it over i realized how silly my excuses were and deleted them!

    I’ll say this though, when I am in the habit of going to the gym, I love when I reach a new milestone in my physical fitness. Like ran x miles, or squatted x pounds for z reps. I make spreadsheets and everything!

Trackbacks

  1. Gym Trauma « You Should Only Know
  2. The more things change … — You Should Only Know

Leave a Reply

