Skip to content

Review: Graceful Services

March 16, 2009

Ever since I wrote about a certain disposable, wasteful toothbrush, the main referrers to the blog have stopped being “naked massage.” This could only mean that it was time for a massage. And because adventures are more fun with friends, I asked my friends Keren and Evelyn to go with me. Keren suggested Graceful Services, a place she found before her wedding that she really enjoyed.

She found out about it from a friend, and I am glad she did. There is no way I would have found this place on my own. Despite winning lots of awards for being a great budget spa, it looks like a hole in the wall, from the street. It’s on the second floor, and you pass by an apartment. Really no-frills. When you get in, you are greeted by a clean, if not sparse or clinical looking place. Judie was the receptionist, and she was friendly and nice. The policy is to pay first, so that you don’t have to deal with the silly financial stuff when you are totally blissed out. I have to admit – the major draw of this place is their prices. Both Keren and I received a Swedish/Deep tissue one hour massage for only $60. Evelyn had a one hour Reiki treatment for $90 (this was in a private room). The deals and specials are really, really impressive.

I was a little nervous at first though. I had been burned by my previous  massage, and although Keren vouched for this place, I think I am a little prissier than she is. I had nothing to worry about it. But – I should give fair warning. It’s not private rooms – it’s essentially one big, narrow room, each bed separated by curtains. The beds are only a few feet from one another, but everything seemed really clean. Nice, soft music was playing, and the room was nice and dim (even though mine was right next to the window).  We were a half hour early, but they were able to take us right away. You are given a box to stow your stuff under the bed, and instructed to remove your clothing (except your underwear) and get under the first sheet. I love clear instructions. I disrobed, and peeled back the first sheet to find a strip of paper – like you would find on your doctor’s exam bed. Not really super spa like, but it was definitely softer than at the docs. I put my face in the head rest thingy, and with it, went my last conscious thought.

I was laying there and a few seconds later, a woman came in. I never saw her face, but she asked in a soft voice to confirm I got one the hour. I could hear Keren in the next bed over being asked the same question – but it wasn’t distracting. Then, the massage beings. Oh. My. God. It was amazing. It was some sort of combo between deep tissue and Swedish and it was incredible. The next thing I know, this tiny woman is climbing all over me. I felt like a giant and she was my little Lilliputian helper, intent on working out every knot I ever had. It was incredible. Because my face was down before she ever walked in the room, I never saw her face, but about a half  hour in, I decided I would marry this woman and do anything to make her happy.

After what I assumed was about an hour, the woman left my little curtained off area. Anxiety started to set in. If the massage was over, why didn’t she tell me? How long do I lay here, in my little cloud? I shouldn’t have worried. Less than a minute later, she was back – with steaming hot towels. She put them all over my back and legs and rubbed through the hot towels. Not only was it super-relaxing, but it also rubbed off any oil. Bonus! Then, I turned over and she finished the treatment. I couldn’t believe it hadn’t been an hour yet.

When it was over, she left me alone to get dressed and brought me a cup of water. I couldn’t even speak, I was so relaxed. I met up with my friends in the waiting room, and we all fell asleep on the subway home. We are booking our next massage (90 minutes this time) for April.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2009 5:27 pm

    Oh Man!
    Totally jealous.
    I had a 15 min foot rub in atlantic or ocean city last summer. I thought that was pretty awesome.

  2. March 16, 2009 11:57 pm

    me too! totally jealous! I’ve had one full body massage at a spa and it was devine. It was with a G/C though and there is no way I can afford it without. Lucky you!

  3. March 18, 2009 11:46 am

    BTW – because of your recommendation – myself and my two best friends are going on Saturday. (Bonus! They take spafinder coupons! I’ve had one for two years I needed to use)

    • March 18, 2009 12:38 pm

      Oh I am so excited! That’s awesome. Let me know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

