Skip to content

The Best Friend I Don’t Have (yet!)

March 17, 2009

My “about” page is one of the most popular pages on the site, and I have a rather lame description of who I am.  ” I am in my mid-twenties, live in Forest Hills, NY with my boyfriend and pretend puppy.”   (Those of you who would like to write their own about who I am are more than welcome! They will be posted.).

Thanks to Jamie who gave me some great shout-outs, I have a bunch of new readers (hi!!!). One of these readers questioned what a pretend puppy could be. (As in: I am Erica. I am in my mid-twenties, live in Forest Hills, NY with my boyfriend and pretend puppy.) And so I shall tell you.

Our “pretend puppy” is the amazing, well-behaved, adorable puppy that my boyfriend and I don’t have. Why don’t we have a puppy? For starters – our apartment building won’t allow it (it’s the only form we had to notarize). Then comes the other issues of we aren’t really home enough. And because I work about an hour commute from where we live it would mean either Frank (my boyfriend)  is mainly responsible, or that I have to always come straight home from work – negating the joys of living in NYC. Also, Frank is gone for a good portion of the summer, each summer (he’s an archaeologist and works in Iceland) and that leaves me responsible for another living being.  I have had some success with a mint plant, but I wouldn’t want to push it.  But mainly – it’s the apartment thing. And the expense, and the lack of overall responsibility.

The thing is? I really love puppies (in my head – all dogs are puppies). Some women my age are baby crazy, and some spend a lot of time planning some sort of ridiculous dream wedding. I am gaga over dogs. I can’t imagine that if and when my biological clock starts ticking, how horrifying I am going to be. And Frank pretends  he isn’t that bad, but I am pretty sure he is a secret commenter on the Daily Puppy.

So, we have a pretend puppy. We have long, detailed discussions over who is cleaning up the poop it just made, and who has to walk it on the cold mornings. We debate on whether its appropriate to have a puppy sleep on the bed (of course – I think that’s the reason to have a dog). We have had actual fights over our imagined canine responsibilities.

I have no idea how we would raise a kid, but I know we are on the same page regarding dog food, training techniques and how Frank hates the term “parent” in relation to domestic animals.

Sometimes we name our pretend puppy (of course, it depends on the breed, the coloring and temperment) , and we sneer at dog owners we feel are doing the wrong thing. We make notes of who in the neighborhood carries doggie bags, and which owners make their dogs wear t-shirts. We are awful.

Then, there are the debates and endless research about the best breeds. There is the championing of favorite breeds and the lists of absolute no-no’s (sorry pug owners). I hate dogs with beards, and Frank has a thing against Rottweilers. We both love Huskies, but sometime their eyes freak me out. And we both like big, BIG dogs, but we know we are apartment bound for quite some time. So, then we have to determine which fantasy dog fits the fantasy lifestyle. When in reality, when we are ready, we will head to the shelter and just pick the best dog that works for us and we can give a good home.

Excuse me, while I go look at puppies on the internet, and use my cursor to pet their little bellies and scrach their noses. I need help. Serious, serious help.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2009 1:52 pm

    Yeah, when I read this title, I thought you meant I was the best friend you don’t have yet. But then I realized it was the puppy.

    Then, I got sad.

    But then I realized we could be BFFs. Or, are we already? Man, I don’t know how this works. We could be across the nation BFFs. ATNBFFs. I REALLY want that to say ANTBFFs. But I can’t figure out how.

  2. March 17, 2009 1:55 pm

    Look Jamie, I can’t spend all this time only blogging about you, you, you. I gotta be free!!!

    Across National Territories – BFF?

  3. March 17, 2009 3:55 pm

    I would like to laugh at you. Then you could come to my house and see my four cats (used to be five) – I refer to them as ‘babies’. Oh yeah. I said it out loud in public. B is JUST as bad – worse even. We send each other pictures of cute kittens and we’re addicted to lolcats…and this is only the tip of the iceberg. So yes, I think you need help…..but three fingers pointing back at me and all that.

  4. Steffi permalink
    March 20, 2009 9:39 am

    i am so with you. maybe even worse: being almost 37 (what with biological clocks and all), i so much more want a dog than a baby. while being totally aware that that is weird, i just cannot help it.

    btw: i just found your blog and i find it totally awesome. big fan.

    • March 20, 2009 9:48 am

      Awww, thanks so much! There was actually an adorable baby in my office yesterday and we cuddled and snuggled. And then I went back to my desk, and looked at pictures of baby giraffes and puppies. Priorities, people.

Trackbacks

  1. One Fine Day « You Should Only Know
  2. New Things to Worry About! « You Should Only Know
  3. The Dotted Line (New Things to Worry About) « You Should Only Know
  4. Just start writing … « You Should Only Know
  5. She made us a pack « You Should Only Know
  6. A Year In Review — You Should Only Know

Leave a Reply

