Skip to content

My bags are packed…

March 22, 2009

Preparing to go on a week-long vacation is kind of exhausting. I wrapped up a really, really long week at work at a normal hour and delivered all my “deliverables”  and delegated whatever was left over. Put on my “away” message. I confirmed travel arrangements, found a place to park my car, refilled prescriptions, printed documents, arranged for mail pickup, picked up actual luggage sans pictures of ponies from Frank’s parent’s house, got a manicure and pedicure (finally using the last of the gift certificate from the awful spa), unplugged electronics, unearthed passports, panicked about what to pack, repacked, went to CVS to pick up last minute crap that I am positive I won’t need, but won’t be able to sleep without knowing I have, re-wrote my essay and sent the final application to grad school and am now about to sit down for the final episode of BSG.

I can’t believe I am finally going on vacation! I don’t think I am going to really relax until I am on that damn ship. I am totally, totally freaked out that we are going to miss the boat because of delays, or that our luggage won’t make it on, or that I don’t have the right paperwork. (Vacation does not make me not crazy.)

The only thing I really don’t have time to do (or energy) is to write some blog posts to magically post while I am gone. So, please – subscribe to the blog and when I come back, you will be treated to Erica’s (Mis-)Adventures on the High Seas. I refuse to believe that I can have float down the river on an inner tube and not have a ridiculous story to tell afterwards.

Edit: To keep you excited and guessing, I am including a random photograph of me “enjoying” Simply Fondue at a friend’s birthday last night. WAY too much butter-type gloop for me (although my double chins say otherwise). There is no known photograph of me licking the chocolate fondue pot after this disaster.

fondont

We call this a “fon-don’t”

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jimbles permalink
    March 22, 2009 10:29 pm

    Haha! It’s the classic Erica-hates-that face!

    Have so much fun you guys!

  2. March 23, 2009 1:15 am

    Why does Uncle Jesse comment on your blog?

    Anyways – have fun! Do lots of crazy things so you can come back and blog like mad.

    Oh, and boo on you for leaving me – I’m going to be bored without you.

  3. March 23, 2009 10:07 am

    Is that the one at Atlas Park? That’s too bad – we had fun there. Looks like you used the grill? Nooooooo – must fry in oil!!!!

    • March 29, 2009 12:06 am

      The rest of it was delicious, but we definitely failed at the grill. Definitely oil next time!

  4. March 23, 2009 1:15 pm

    Have a great vacation! Can’t wait to hear about it.

Leave a Reply

