Skip to content

Who needs self-esteem?

March 31, 2009

I worked from home today, because I had a follow-up appointment with the sleep doctor at 2pm. Which was annoying, because I feel like he could have told me that I don’t have sleep apnea over the phone, but – hey, why give up that co-pay? So, after lunch, I washed up and got dressed (for those of you playing along at work, yes – I attended our morning meeting in pajamas. But they were very professional looking pajamas.) I barely zipped up my jeans over my post-cruise tummy, vowed to go to the gym in the morning and went on my merry way.

I run into my friendly mail-carrier Stephanie in the lobby. She is sitting there, sorting mail. I say hi, she says hi. I really rock at this small talk.  I smile, and pass by. She kind of hesitates and then she says with a big smile “Oh, hey. I meant to ask! Are you pregnant?”

“Oh. My. God. No. No, I am very much not pregnant.”

She looks awkward and confused. I look horrified. I want to run upstairs and cry.

“Apartment 1H, right?”

“Yeah. But seriously? I mean I know I have to go to the gym…”

“I am so sorry! I delivered that formula awhile ago and I just thought…” she trails off.

And then it all makes sense. That’s why she thought I was pregnant.  I explain, we laugh. I am going to go pack my gym bag now.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April permalink
    April 1, 2009 12:20 am

    omg i actually gasped out loud! Who would say that formula delivery or not? ESP woman to woman! yikes.

  2. Frank permalink
    April 1, 2009 6:46 pm

    At lease she didn’t call you Don Gordo 😦

  3. April 2, 2009 3:04 am

    We’ve been OVER this – it was the formula that kicked her into thinking it.

    But, I agree with April – no one should be saying such things, formula delivery or not.

    • April 2, 2009 7:32 am

      I know! Do you not click links, Ms. Internet?

      I get that it was the formula. It makes sense. But the fact that my heart dropped and that I immediately thought of my weight means something isn’t right.

Trackbacks

  1. Someone Else’s Two Pink Lines | You Should Only Know

Leave a Reply

