Skip to content

Shape-ing Up

April 15, 2009

Back in March, I wrote about how annoyed I was that in the “green/eco-friendly” edition of Shape Magazine, they were pushing the Colgate Wisp, a disposable toothbrush.  I didn’t really expect a response, but I felt that I had to do more than just blog  – that I needed to write to the editor. So I did. I didn’t save the email for posterity, because I submitted it on their website in the form contact area, but I assure you that it was respectful and said most of what I said in the post.  I wrote them, wrote about it here, cursed under my breath that the #1 people find this blog is searches for that infernal toothbrush, and largely forgot about the whole thing (except until I saw Oprah Magazine do the same thing, and wrote to them as well).

Today, I was pleasantly pleased to see an email from Valerie from Shape.  And it wasn’t a form letter!

Erica,

Thanks for helping to keep us honest here at Shape. Your call-out in your
letter about featuring a “single-use toothbrush” in our April green issue is
absolutely correct. Including that in our green issue was wrong…and moving
forward we will try to be more aware of things like this.

Thanks for writing in and for being a reader of Shape.

Valerie

I have other issues with Shape, but will continue to read it (because I am a magazine junkie) and I just wanted to give a shout-out. I was just really impressed that they replied, and I sincerely hope that they mean what they say, because rest assured, I’ll be watching. I wish their message was “we will be more respectful of the earth and not push wasteful, harmful products” but hey, it’s a start.

It’s also really sad that I am so impressed that they replied, because I run a customer service department and wouldn’t dream of not replying, but hey – I am realistic that not every company is as wonderful as mine at customer service.

Please consider writing to companies and let them know what bugs you. I will definitely do this again and be sure to update everyone on any responses.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2009 10:17 pm

    This is why you’re amazing – that’s serious passion and gumption right there.

    Love it!

  2. April 17, 2009 9:09 am

    This is awesome! And I agree, it’s sad that we get excited to get a response. A lot of people may ask who has the time for this – well you know what, I think of it like voting. If you don’t make an effort to let a brand/company/person know something is not right, you better not complain about anything out there!

Trackbacks

  1. Editorial and Moral Inconsistencies « You Should Only Know

Leave a Reply

