Skip to content

Ask Erica (Advice from the Internet)

April 16, 2009

I don’t know if this is a normal thing, or that everyone fancies themselves a great advice giver, but I have had a few people, especially lately, tell me I am really good at reading situations and giving advice. Also, I think the same intuitive leaps that make me a good Internet Stalker, also make me good at figuring out what people will do next. We can also pretend it’s my background in Anthropology, but I am pretty sure that’s stretching it.

So, I am now inviting people to “Ask Erica” and submit their burning questions to be answered by an intuitive, insightful Internet Person™. I am hoping to make this a regular thing.

My credentials:  I love advice columns and read too much about etiquette and ethics and all that other jazz. I have a crazy, messed-up family and can speak from experience. I have been in both inappropriate, tortured love affairs, and wonderful, sane, stable relationships.  As for careers, I have been everything from an assistant clown to a marketing and customer service professional. I have seen the worst of office politics, and the best. I also love, love, love giving my opinion.

So, I am accepting questions on relationships (office, love or family), or professional “what am I doing with my life/how do I get “X” job” or “what do I do about my co-worker whose nose whistles ABBA” type questions. Also, “modern day etiquette.” I can give some career advice, and tell you if you are crazy, or totally justified.

Subjects in which I will not stand behind my advice (but will give it anyway): House cleaning tips, financial advice and pet care.

I promise to keep them anonymous (if that’s what you request) and to tell it to you straight (but I will try not to be a jerkface).  If I can’t answer your question, I promise to try to pull in an “Internet Expert” and help you out.

Email your burning questions to youshouldonlyknow <at> gmail dot com. I will answer as many as possible.

Some Advice Columns/Blogs I Love:

Ask a Manager

Evil HR Lady

Dear Prudence

IndieEtiquette

The Advice Goddess

The Ethicist

Carolyn Hax

P.S. Before you submit anything, please remember you are asking advice from a girl who managed to temporarily blind and choke herself on tap water.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2009 10:17 pm

    Here’s my question – why you stealin’ my ideas? kidding! Brad and I have talked about doing a couple advice column for the last several years. ‘Cept we can’t seem to motivate – so good for you!

    • April 16, 2009 10:26 pm

      Maybe we can form an advice collective! Our own version of a Think Tank. Cool matching t-shirts, anyone?

  2. April 16, 2009 10:59 pm

    This is awesome! I love advice columns too (which is probably why I started giving advice myself; plus I’m bossy). I’m excited to start reading yours!

    You know who’s missing from your list — Carolyn Hax, who I worship. If you haven’t read her, check her out: http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/linkset/2005/03/24/LI2005032402809.html

    She does a weekly column for the Washington Post, plus an online chat there every Friday.

    • April 16, 2009 11:05 pm

      I love Carolyn! How did I leave her off? Rectifying now.

  3. April 17, 2009 6:15 pm

    I think people need an example.

    So, here, Erica, explain boys to me, please. In blog post form. That way, every time I am going crazy over a boy, I can come to your blog and calm down. Thanks.

  4. April 17, 2009 7:49 pm

    What a great idea! I can’t wait to read what comes in and your advice. I’ll have to come up with a really good, burning question I need advice on. Stay tuned… 🙂

  5. April 19, 2009 9:11 am

    Hmmm, other than how long until summer vacation? I can’t think of any questions. And for that one I could just pull out a calendar and count or ask any one of my sixth graders (I’m sure THEY know!).

    I can’t wait to see the questions you get and the answers you give! Good luck!

Trackbacks

  1. Ask Erica Vol. 1 - Boys and Bicycles « You Should Only Know
  2. Crisis Averted « You Should Only Know

Leave a Reply

