Skip to content

Paying the Piper

April 26, 2009

(Warning: Extreme whininess ahead. I will probably regret this post later, but since I don’t listen to emo, this is going to be how I vent.)

I went out last night to celebrate a friend’s birthday. We had a lot of fun. I don’t go out very often  (remember, I am practically geriatric) and it’s rare that I go out and drink to excess. This was one of those nights. I was properly napped, wearing cute but comfortable shoes, among friends I trusted and had a safe, sober ride home.  I had a blast reconnecting with friends that I made in high school that I clearly don’t hang out with enough, and made a few new ones. I didn’t leave the bar until about 2:30, made some sort of plans for “the most amazing brunch ever” and crawled into bed.

I woke up absurdly early, with the hangover I knew I would have. No problem, I partied and now I had to pay. I crawled out to the couch and drank water, waiting for my friend to call with brunch plans. It was extra exciting that a Law and Order: Criminal Intent marathon was on. In a weird way, I was kind of excited about my day of nothing planned, nursing a headache and watching TV. Also, brunch.

Well, I knew it was going to go downhill when I realized I had seen all of these episodes. How is it that there have been like a million L&Os and the same 10 or 15 are always on? Okay, no biggie. I had a Netflix. Before I could pop it in, my friend called to cancel brunch. Still – not a big deal. I had some frozen waffles, but not much else. I called my mom and arranged a little bonding time with her over food shopping, and she was going to come pick me up.

And this is where the universe punishes me for having fun and decides there is no way I can have two, nice relaxing days in a row.

Within a span of 10 minutes, my mom calls me back to tell me her car has died, yet again, and she is stranded in a parking lot, dying of heat and waiting for a tow and minutes later my step-mom calls and texts me to tell me that my dad isn’t doing well and she is taking him to the ER. (My dad has been sick the past week. Fever, throwing-up, and has lost 10 lbs. in a week) But, with a history of Hodgkin’s cancer and Lyme’s disease it’s hard to tell what is serious and what is hospital worthy. Unfortunately, with him – it’s usually hospital worthy).

I need to go pick up mom, and by this time the hangover has turned into a sore throat and general not-feeling-good. Except, I can’t go pick her up because I don’t know where my car is parked, and Frank is in the library and not really answering the phone.  And then he doesn’t remember exactly where it is. So, it’s unseasonably hot and I am roaming the neighborhood looking for my car. I hate the heat normally, so hangover overheatingness is just not fun.

All’s well that ends well. I find her, follow her back home (after the tow came, the car magically turned back on). This doesn’t excuse her running through yellow lights as I try to follow her, but I digress. I go food shopping, have some coffee, lend my mom my car for the week and now I am safely back in my apartment, doing laundry, blogging and relaxing. Still no update on Dad, but I am not going to worry too much, yet. There’s talk that it may be appendicitis. They’re running a CAT scan now.

I just get so annoyed because I feel like no matter how much I try to set aside some time to relax, and just do my own thing – someone always needs something from me, or something goes wrong. I am exaggerating and of course I am just noticing all the times everything goes great.  But lately? I just feel very burnt-out.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2009 7:40 pm

    That does suck though. When nothing goes the way you planned it, it makes it harder to be nice about things. Hope your dad feels better.

  2. meredithelaine permalink
    April 26, 2009 7:46 pm

    Well, I’m glad everything turned out okay, but having to actually DO STUFF when hungover is SO not ideal.

    It must be something about this weekend. I was hungover too…I spent yesterday at a BBQ/Pool Party, and was hungover before I even LEFT the party. That is NOT ideal.

    Hope you are able to sleep and slack the rest of your day away!

  3. April 27, 2009 10:12 am

    I wouldn’t judge too harshly your so-called “extreme whininess.” Isn’t talking and venting one of the ways to get past something? Go right ahead and be proud of it, too.

    • April 27, 2009 10:19 am

      Thanks! It’s just that I was so annoyed when it was happening, and when I went to go write about it, it seemed a little silly.

      Update: The hangover is long gone, but a summer cold (in spring) has taken it’s place. Dad was admitted to the hospital for dehydration and his oncologist are investigating a cyst on his kidney.

  4. April 27, 2009 11:16 am

    Ugh. That sucks. And after a night of fun drinking no less.

    Setting aside time to relax probably works about 40% of the time. You just fell in the other 60%.

  5. April 27, 2009 6:13 pm

    What a crazy day. =( Does not sound fun at all. I’m sorry to hear this – if you need to talk or vent, you know I’m here.

  6. Frank permalink
    April 28, 2009 12:19 am

    This post isn’t about how our landlord looks like Rowdy Roddy Piper.

  7. April 28, 2009 5:30 am

    Sending you hugs, Advil and prayers for your Dad. AND a whole new day to rest and relax in – not one that’s suffocatingly hot either.

Leave a Reply

