Skip to content

New Things to Worry About!

May 3, 2009

Part of the problem with having a wildly successful blog (*snort*) is that I can’t write about certain things. Obviously not because I am embarrassed to tell the internet about my shower routine or pretend pets, but because people at work read this. And I am trying not to let it inhibit me too much, but at the same time – a little fear of telling the public what a nutcase I am is probably healthy for my career.

So, I won’t tell you about how on a Friday after a long week where I was just feeling kind of “out of it” and cranky for no real reason, that I came into work pretty late. I shouldn’t have been late, and have been pretty good about coming in on-time (read: much earlier) in the past few weeks, but it was Friday, gloomy, I had no meetings and I just wasn’t that worried. So, I won’t tell you that after I got to my desk 40 minutes late that I saw I had an IM from the CEO, twenty minutes earlier, asking if I was in the office. Or that he wanted to go to lunch with me today and I looked down and I was wearing my awesome “Day of the Dead” skull shoes. Very professional. Because, if that had happened to me, it would be just my luck. But I wouldn’t tell you guys all that.

Here’s what I will tell you.  I was on my way home after what ended up being a pretty productive day (even though I was hungry, because despite being bought lunch – I didn’t eat much because I was busy yapping) and Frank called to tell me that there was a letter in the mail for me – from grad school! He confirmed it was a thin letter, so I asked him to just open it and read it – because at least this way I will know if I needed to buy ice cream on the way home (believe me, this makes sense to me.)

He opened it. Grad school was pleased to accept my application! I am in. This was very exciting! I was of course, hoping to get in, but was aware that it was a possibility I wouldn’t be accepted. But I am! Eventually, at some point, somehow, I will get my MS in Industrial and Organizational Psychology. I have to figure out how I am going to pay for it, what my schedule will look like and all those other fun details later, but for now – I am just going to be happy that the chapter of my life where I worry about having to eventually re-take the GRE, and if I should go to grad school -is over. Now I can start being anxious and nervous over something real instead of something theoretical. This, in my world, is considered an improvement.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. legaldunki permalink
    May 3, 2009 10:11 am

    Nice post. Congrats on getting into grad school. I completely relate to your post, and buying ice cream on the way home makes perfect sense to me.

  2. May 3, 2009 10:23 am

    Congratulations on both your wildly popular blog and getting into grad school! And yes, the ice cream thing makes total sense.

  3. littlemisssarcasm permalink
    May 3, 2009 10:49 am

    Hi-Five!!!!! That’s fantastic!

    Sidenote: The skull shoes; the same ones that I love from Target?

    • May 3, 2009 11:15 am

      At the risk of sounding too snotty – how many skull shoes do you think I own? 🙂

  4. May 3, 2009 7:14 pm

    I’d just like to say, again, congratulations!

    I can’t wait to hear all about the grad school plans! =D

  5. May 3, 2009 8:16 pm

    Congratulations! Now comes the really fun part, going back to school. Good luck!

  6. May 4, 2009 9:19 am

    Congrats!

  7. May 5, 2009 2:57 am

    Congrats on grad school! Best of luck to you.

Trackbacks

  1. When quitting is actually turning the corner. — You Should Only Know

Leave a Reply

