Skip to content

You Could Almost Smell the Patchouli

May 4, 2009

I had every intention today of finishing up at work, going home, making some dinner, stopping by the gym to cancel my membership (it’s the summer, it’s expensive and I still have trusty Lucille Roberts) and then go to my friend’s house to watch some wrestling.

Plans were slightly derailed when a friend wasn’t feeling so great at work, so I decided to accompany her home so she wouldn’t be alone (she looked pretty bad – but is doing well now.) This gave me the opportunity to go to this “thing” that I read about on a local message board.  Essentially, a poetry thing (not really my scene) but one of my fave YA/historical fiction authors was doing  a reading, and I have been meaning to check this restaurant out again, so I figured it was worth a shot. I suckered my friend Terry and John into meeting me.

We met up for some Greek food first, and had some of the world’s worst service. As in, I literally had to not only ask them to bus the table before we sat, I had to ask twice for spoons for the soup, beg for coffee, and remind them about our dessert. We knew we needed to eat first, because I have been to Tierra Sana before (the place where this “thing” was happening) and despite my friend’s claims that it has gotten better – my last few experiences with it have been … bad. Really, really bad. Like, weird hippie guy opens a restaurant and has something against flavor and seasoning, and keeps talking about great vegetarian food, but has never heard of seitan or tempeh. I know something changed, because they now serve fish. I really want to like this place. It’s literally up the block, and I like the idea of supporting a local vegetarian (well, formerly vegetarian) restaurant. They seem to really want to do some local outreach, and have cool things like meetups, game nights, etc. It’s just … the food was really bad those several times I tried. But this time was a free wine tasting and appetizers, and we figured we didn’t have that much too lose.

So, well fed – we walk up to the restaurant. They have these french doors, so we can see what’s going on there. The flyer/info sheet I saw said it had about 5 or 6 “performers”, and it looks like there were 10-12 people sitting around in a circle. A circle! And there was a stage, and some guy brought out a guitar. This is not my scene. We milled around outside, trying to gather up the courage to go in – but failed. I mean, come on – it was a circle! With a guy with a guitar, and performance artists. And I have no idea what this author I like looks like, and even if I did? I wouldn’t know what to say. I was never the kind of person that really wanted to meet celebrities in any sort of artificial meet and greet way.  So, we moved on.

I went across the street to cancel my gym membership (and failed because of some BS claim that only a manager can print out the piece of paper that allows someone to cancel and the manager just left).  Defeated, I headed home. And, I just looked up the link for the event for this post, and I just saw an update that says Lauren Willig (the author) had to bail at the last minute. So, today = total wash.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2009 9:28 pm

    …It IS a Monday. Monday’s are for surviving without creating chaos or earning too much ridicule. Tomorrow will be better!

  2. May 5, 2009 8:01 am

    If it makes you feel any better, yesterday was just a ridiculous day for everyone. There was definitely something off about it, even for a Monday.

Leave a Reply

