Skip to content

Toilet Paper and Love

May 12, 2009

I woke up early this morning to go do a workout video in my livingroom (yay me!) and I made my customary pit-stop in the bathroom. My bathroom light always takes a few minutes to flicker on – but when it did? A treat! Apparently, after I went to sleep last night, Frank spent some time booby-trapping the bathroom. He totally TPd the joint – with streams of toilet paper stretching from the roller to the shower curtain and all the way back. It was like a little mini-version of Halloween in there. If it wasn’t 6am, and I had my mental faculties, I would have taken a picture.

In my confused morning state, I ran through the following scenarios: We had been burgled, or Frank was perhaps trying to tell me that the toilet was broken. After a cursory glance around the apartment, and a test of the flush mechanism – I determined my boyfriend just had a screw loose. I did my business, then went to workout. During the workout, I heard Frank to go to the bathroom and stumble back to bed.  When I went in to go shower, I saw that he disassembled his handiwork and piled it neatly for future use. I woke him up before I left for work, and asked for an explanation. Apparently, he just wanted to make me giggle in the morning.

I love, love, love this man.

(Had I taken my normal, lights still off, nighttime pee and ran into a web of toilet paper, this would have had a different, yet hysterical outcome.)

How does your loved one show that they think about you?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Marie permalink
    May 12, 2009 12:57 pm

    Ok, that was adorable. And I’ve always wanted to TP something, but never had the guts. I think I’m going to TP our bathroom under the guise of love so that Mark doesn’t hate me. Too sweet. And he cleaned it up? Love it.

  2. May 12, 2009 1:09 pm

    All is right with the world.

  3. May 12, 2009 1:11 pm

    AW! Frank is the cutest boyfriend ever!

    I want someone to TP my bathroom for me. =)

  4. May 12, 2009 1:14 pm

    My wife leaves me reminders / love notes in the morning that involve death threats. Such as this one here: http://twitpic.com/1jbcc

  5. May 12, 2009 3:26 pm

    Ha! See…there are free ways of showing you care. 🙂

    The Mister will do random things of that nature–but never quite that thing.

  6. May 12, 2009 5:23 pm

    Part of me wishes that you had encountered this expression of love during a middle of the night pee-session. This is definitely an awesome story but I just feel like you stumbling into the bathroom, in the dark would be hilarious.

    Top marks to Frank!

  7. Frank permalink
    May 12, 2009 10:35 pm

    Wait ’till you see what I leave for you in the bathroom tonight!

  8. May 12, 2009 11:20 pm

    That’s great!

  9. May 13, 2009 9:29 am

    That is so cute!
    I’m trying to think of something my husband does for me. He started doing the laundry when he is off since I was complaining that no one ever does it except me and he wanted to make it easier for me. I guess that counts.

Leave a Reply

