Skip to content

Upcoming Events

May 13, 2009

Sometimes I wish I was an author (okay, I always wish I was an author – or that some awesome publisher will read this blog and be like, oh my god – she should totally write a book of her blog posts, and we will pay her enough money to spill the beans about her family so that she could both be an awesomely famous writer, but afford therapy for everyone) so that I could tell you people where I am going on my fabulous book signings, or all the other fascinating things I am doing.

Since I don’t think thats happening any time this week, you will have to settle for where I will be this weekend with no promises to meet my adoring fans and ask people to bring me cupcakes (this appears to be some sort of author-trend recently).

Thursday – After work (which I am looking forward to because of our Office Book Club), I will be heading down to Brooklyn and Nerd Nite! This has been described as “like watching the Discovery Channel, but with beer” and includes two hours of trivia. This is awesome. If you are in the area, come play with us! I think we are trying to get a team going.

Friday – I have the day off of work, and have an early morning doc appointment (regular check-up stuff). After that, I will be meeting up with the lovely and talented Evelyn and Keren and we will run around doing chores and waiting for Terry. Why? We are spending the weekend at the Buttermilk Falls Inn and Spa.This is one of my favorite places.

I become almost incoherent when speaking about what an awesome time we had when we went last year (sans Evelyn, unfortunately.) When I tell you that I relaxed, I mean it. It’s kind of like my happy place. The massages/treatments were awesome, but that’s not even the best part – some highlights include

  • Llamas. And Sheep. And peacocks and chickens. They all live on the grounds and you can visit them and hang out with them.
  • The organic garden where they grow most of their food. You can walk around the garden and nibble. And the peach orchards.
  • They serve breakfast and afternoon tea – it’s all delicious.
  • They have a Common area with giant couches and books and it kinds of feel like you are hanging out in a Hobbit den.
  • There is this lake with a gang of ducks who have a goose as their gang leader. And a troll bridge.
  • OPEN KITCHEN. You can use their kitchen and fridges and stuff – but there is always something in the kitchen for nibbling. Fresh cookies, chocolate dipped strawberries, scones – whatever.

It’s just so peaceful. I love going places with Frank and other guy friends, but there is something so nice about just being with my girlfriends – the kinds of people that like doing the same stuff as you, and have the same idea of what relaxation should be. And we can just sit, and not talk. Or talk a lot, about everything from roleplaying games, politics, made-up stories about Aunt Jenny from the Spry can to taking quizzes in Teen Vogue.

I don’t know how we are going to top last year, or if it will be a totally different experience, but I am really looking forward to it. We still tell silly stories and inside jokes that seemed to perfectly make sense when you are in a spa upstate with a possibly dead turtle on a lake and a cemetary next to a spa. When you fight the fierce current of the indoor wave pool, and then visit the Rivendell Winery – magical things happen. When an overzealous masseuse breaks your friend, you understand the importance of cuddling with kittens who eat off of your breakfast plate. Also, I know I am not making any sense – but this is the kind of trip I totally need. And now – some more pics from last year that still make me smile.

The Troll Bridge. We may have been LARPing. I'll never tell.

The Troll Bridge. We may have been LARPing. I'll never tell.

This llama wants to look dignified, but knows it looks like a poodle.

This llama wants to look dignified, but knows it looks like a poodle.

breakfast

Just a portion of Sunday breakfast. Not pictured: The NY Times, bagels, lox, capers, fresh fruit, whole wheat bread, fruit bread, home made bluberry and strawberry jam, tea assortment, coffee

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2009 11:19 am

    Wow. That place looks amazing. I wish I had the money to go somewhere like that. *sigh*

    • May 14, 2009 11:42 am

      Ha! Me too. I have been saving for this for awhile though, and its my big excitement of the summer.

      • May 14, 2009 3:58 pm

        Hey! Don’t forget the Presidential Home Tour! Come to think of it…that’s not all that exciting.

  2. May 14, 2009 2:25 pm

    I am jealous and a half – what a fun weekend! Enjoy! Relax! Save up zany stories to blog about!

  3. May 15, 2009 2:57 pm

    Oh em gee I want to go to a llama farm toooooooo.

  4. May 18, 2009 3:00 pm

    RE: wanting to be an author…I couldn’t agree more! 😉

Leave a Reply

