Skip to content

The Comeback from … Already Existing Success?

May 20, 2009

I think like most people my age, and especially those as nerdy as me – Doogie Howser, M.D. was pure, pure awesome. Brilliant, cute, funny guy is a successful doctor but still has to balance his genius life against being a kid. And he has a best friend who climbs in through the window. He is also a prototype for the first blogger, typing away on his awesome computer. I think its obvious that I was in total love.

Time went on, and I developed crushes on other important TV characters (Brandon Walsh will always have a place in my heart) and the memory of Doogie faded. (Also, I couldn’t maintain a serious crush on a guy named Doogie. In my head, I called him Doug.)

And, like most good nerds – I eventually fell in love with Buffy and Angel and the whole “Whedonverse” (verdict still out on Dollhouse) and was ecstatic to check out his internet-release Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog.  One of it’s stars was the awesome Neil Patrick Harris (Doogie). I was so psyched – happy he found work and was still so awesome. Other people were as well – the press was excited about it and mentioned how he was in those “Harold and Kumar” movies – but I hadn’t seen them, and even his appearance in them felt like a “Doogie cameo” (to me, who still hasn’t seem them). But everyone was talking about a comeback and how “Doogie has grown up.” I was happy – yay for Doogie!

And then recently, I started watching “How I Met Your Mother” – which is pure awesome. It has Alyson Hannigan, and it’s just really well-written. It gets good reviews, it’s been on since 2005 and is just pure funny. It also has Neil Patrick Harris – whose character, Barney Stinson is quickly approaching one of my favorite characters of all time – against my will, since womanzing wingmen with witty catchphrases aren’t usually my type.

So, how is it, that this actor who has been on a successful, network TV show for about 4 years is experiencing a “comeback” now? Isn’t he already back?

barney

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2009 11:51 am

    You know, NPH is kinda–the sexy (especially in that photo).

  2. Frank permalink
    May 20, 2009 1:14 pm

    If womanzing wingmen with witty catchphrases aren’t your type, how did you end up with me?

    • May 20, 2009 1:22 pm

      That story is legen ….. wait for it ….. dary!!!

      Awww, Cute High Five!

  3. May 20, 2009 4:56 pm

    LOVE Neil Patrick Harris. I was definitely a big Doogie Howser fan back in the day (yes, my family used to gather round each week to watch it) but I think he’s managed to break out of that child star route. I love him in How I Met Your Mother!

  4. May 20, 2009 6:07 pm

    I loved Doogie Howser. I used to wish I had a window that Vinnie (that was his name, right?) could climb in. Dr. Horrible is a great series though. I heard there might be a sequel.

    I think NPH’s “comeback” might be relative. I don’t think he ever went away. He just wasn’t in the spotlight.

  5. May 20, 2009 9:12 pm

    Hey! Send me an email and I’ll send you a link to my new site!

  6. May 21, 2009 8:46 pm

    This blog post was just too awesome for words.

    I think I was too young for Doogie, but nerds are irresistible in my book. =)

  7. June 14, 2010 11:57 pm

    Neil Patrick Harris is the man I love him and all of the old school TV stars. He was in so many shows I can remember from back in the day. Thanks for this memory.
    .-= salute your shorts tv show´s last blog ..Salute Your Shorts Season 1, Episode 12 – Mail Carrier Mona =-.

Leave a Reply

