Skip to content

Not-Quite Lunchtime Blogging

May 22, 2009

When I started this blog, I just wanted a place to write – maybe tell stories about my family and some silly things that happen to me. And Yiddish.  But I became a little inhibited because … some of my family reads this and I never know whats going to  upset someone – and because I  know what certainly will upset some people (and those are kinda the best stories). Because I don’t believe its really possible to be entirely anonymous on the internet – I decided to just lay my cards on the table. Which means some stories, will never be told.

So then I decided that if I was going to be me, publicly – I should maybe use it to my advantage and start writing about professional stuff here. Marketing, issues regarding customer service, etc. But then – the title kind of made no sense, and I was a little inhibited because people I work with read this – and while in theory, that should be a good thing when talking about professional things, it just felt a little too … close. Also, that’s a lot of pressure to think about career stuff that often – and I would miss writing about random things, and it would be too big of a mish-mosh to have a “professional” blog interspersed with stories about gym towels.

So, then I had a freak-out about what my blog was about. And then kind of just settled on “stuff that happens to me and that I think about.” And that was nice – I felt it really freed me up to talk about whatever I wanted to talk about and not worry too much about targeting an audience or anything.  I decided to celebrate this with a blog redesign involving unicorns.

I was reading a new-found great blog called “Plight of the Pumpernickel” and she had an awesome post about being a “Lunch Break Blogger” which she defines as a “blogger who discusses things that occur to him or her on a lunch break.” This is perfect! I am so that kind of blogger-except I generally don’t write too much at work, and lunchtime is reserved for lengthy conversations in the break room about the merits of vampires versus werewolves and questioning if koala bears are poisonous to humans.

I mentally compose my blogs while on the subway (if I don’t have a book with me) or walking to and from the subway (if I am not on the phone with a random family member who may or may not be in the hospital, or telling me why they aren’t speaking to a different family member).  I headblog while waiting in line, or in the shower. Then, I generally jot down a draft of what I was thinking about, spend some time in the evening writing about it and then sometimes let it sit there until I post later the next day (with all these drafts, you would think I manage to avoid using the word “awesome” 20 times in a single post. No dice).

So, while “lunch break blogger” isn’t an entirely accurate description, it’s a pretty damn good one. It frees me up to write about professional stuff, the upcoming search for an apartment, my strong feelings about Veronica Mars and some stuff about dying languages only spoken by 80-year old bubbes and me.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2009 12:13 pm

    I just want to highlight a few of my favorite lines in this post. May I?

    I am so that kind of blogger-except I generally don’t write too much at work, and lunchtime is reserved for lengthy conversations in the break room about the merits of vampires versus werewolves and questioning if koala bears are poisonous to humans.

    Very important conversations. And, are koala bears poisonous to humans!?

    I headblog while waiting in line, or in the shower.

    HEADBLOG! That’s the best word.

    (with all these drafts, you would think I manage to avoid using the word “awesome” 20 times in a single post. No dice).

    It’s awesome how many times you say awesome.

    some stuff about dying languages only spoken by 80-year old bubbes and me.

    I LOLed at bubbes!

    Aaah, I loved this post.

    • May 22, 2009 1:11 pm

      Awww, Jamie! You are the best. In fact, you are awesome.

      (Yes, those cuddly koalas are poisonous if we were to eat them. Which we would totally deserve.)

  2. Jennifer Roland permalink
    May 22, 2009 2:15 pm

    So which is better: vampires or werewolves?

    • May 22, 2009 9:54 pm

      Like you have to ask! Clearly, it’s vampires. 🙂

      • Jennifer Roland permalink
        May 24, 2009 12:37 am

        As long as we’re on the same page!

  3. May 24, 2009 9:37 pm

    Lunch-time blogger is a great category to be in…it means you’re writing and you have a job! 🙂

    But seriously, there’s no need to self-identify all the time, but it’s hard not to in the blogosphere, isn’t it?

  4. May 26, 2009 7:11 pm

    Thanks for pointing me in the direction of a “label” – even if I try to stray away from those in general. But lunch-time blogging, composing on the T or in my car? All are things I do every day. I just haven’t gotten around to writing it all down yet.

    P.S. I also have very strong feelings about Veronica Mars. And vampires. But not koala bears.

Trackbacks

  1. A Year In Review — You Should Only Know
  2. Mom and the Modern Unlocked Diary — You Should Only Know
  3. This is the new normal. — You Should Only Know
  4. Sunday Brain Dump | You Should Only Know

Leave a Reply

