Skip to content

Once More, with Feeling

June 4, 2009

Like many other nerds, I love Joss Whedon, and “Buffy.” This dedicated group of people have been staging “Buffy Sing-alongs” where everyone gets together and watches the awesome musical episode of Buffy, and has a floor show, shades of Rocky Horror Picture Show (complete with a “goody bag” of props).

Not sure what I mean?Check out the “live action” clip from one of my favorite songs

Last night, the same group of people hosted a “Sunnydale 10 Year Reunion” (since Buffy and friends “graduated” in 1999) and it was hosted at the Galapagos space in DUMBO. It was really cute. When you got in, you were handed a dossier of a character that appeared in the show, and got a nametag. You got to sign yearbooks, participate in some insane Buffy trivia and some “Buffy-oke”. At the end of the evening, they did the singalong again (this would be the third time I have seen it). Nineties gear was encouraged, and I wore some awesome dangly earrings, pigtails, a bandana, a “baby-doll” tee, a long black skirt and my Doc Martens. I forgot to put on the dogtags.

Showing off the "yearbook." That's Rebecca in the pink, texting her Sunnydale expert for trivia help.

Showing off the "yearbook." That's Rebecca in the pink, texting her Sunnydale expert for trivia help.

In between the trivia rounds, they played some rockin’ 90’s tunes.  Now, in the actual nineties, I was far too cool for this, but now? We totally, totally rocked out to the Spice Girls and the Backstreet Boys. My embarrassment, for your enjoyment in the clip below.

What made it extra-awesome is that not only did Frank and I go, my sister and her friend drove us, and we met up with my awesome co-worker/friend Rebecca, and some old high school friends of mine that I haven’t seen in a long time (since the last time we went to a Buffy singalong). We will definitely be hanging out again, but next time I will leave the Docs and unfortunate accessories at home.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2009 4:03 pm

    That is so cool. I wish some of friends were big Buffy fans like me.

  2. June 5, 2009 9:51 am

    That looks like a ton of fun! Even though, admittedly, I have never watched “Buffy” and have no idea who Joss Whedon is. I’ve never seen Rocky Horror either. I think I live under a rock.

  3. June 5, 2009 4:27 pm

    Thanks for the great review, and for some video clips (we rarely get to see ourselves). The show was truly a blast for all of us, and it was so fun to be at the Bronze for the night!

  4. June 5, 2009 4:52 pm

    Oh, wow. Look at that gangly, awkward midget playing Spike who also just so happens to be me. I’m so glad you had a good time. We had a ton of fun putting it together.

    • June 5, 2009 6:30 pm

      You guys were great! I am so glad you found the review. We had a blast.

    • Frank permalink
      June 6, 2009 10:11 am

      Dude, you have Spike down pat. Erica and I have seen Once More With a Feeling before and we were blown away by how you even moved like Spike!

Trackbacks

  1. Gag Me with a Plastic Spoon « You Should Only Know

Leave a Reply

