Skip to content

The Gallery of Awful Art – Bathroom Gnomes

June 8, 2009

You’ve seen some of the better cliches in my apartment – (the “Velvis” and the prancing unicorns) and while I have no pink flamingoes – I do have some of the more awesome developments in suburban art – “The Garden Gnome.” Unfortunately, we have no garden. Tiny apartment. But what do do have, is a bathroom.  Same diff.

Hanging out in the corner, watching you pee – are the three larger gnomes. They are there to make sure you wash your hands, keep the seat down and to generally freak out any one who isn’t forewarned.

Corner Gnomes

If you decide to snoop in my medicine cabinet (or, need a band-aid or something), you will meet the guardians of the cabinet.

Cabinet Gnomes

The other gnome needs a little introduction.  I am not sure if the rest of the country has these, but Queens has these ridiculous, useless, usually-painted-shut hampers.

Exhibit A:

Hamper

Yeah. Crossword puzzles. Don't judge.

We find our hamper useless for laundry, but we found another use for it. Please, stop here if you can’t handle the sight of feminine products. Hopefully the toilet paper in the above picture didn’t scandalize you.

Gnomes

Oh, hello there!

TP Gnomes

Totally exposed

That’s most of the “art” in our bathroom. I am sure we will add more as we find them – it seems like these guys are a dollar store staple, so a fresh gnome is never too far away.

Please, visit more of the gallery:

The Chess Game

The Velvet Elvis

Prancing Unicorns

Dude Looks Like a Lady

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2009 9:08 pm

    Hey… for three months my old roommate and I thought those “hampers” were trashcans… We couldn’t figure out why somebody would put a permanent trashcan in the bathroom!

  2. April permalink
    June 8, 2009 9:43 pm

    OMG I love the gnomes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Marie permalink
    June 8, 2009 10:12 pm

    This is so cute. Kinda creepy, but cute. And you so need to submit your medicine cabinet to Alice.com’s “Me, My Shelf, and I” series! I don’t think anyone has had gnomes yet. Love it.

  4. June 9, 2009 10:03 am

    That is freakin’ hysterical. The gnomes lurking about in the bathroom, not gonna lie, creeps me out just a tad, but it is equally as amusing.

  5. June 9, 2009 10:21 am

    I love the gnomes! They’re totally one of my favorite gifts to give people from the dollar store.

    Yeah, I totally just ‘fessed up to giving dollar store presents… but pretty much only gnomes and only to people that’ll be so excited about them, they won’t care where they came from.

    • June 9, 2009 11:00 am

      Part of my fear of posting this was that now I would be the recipient of dozens of gnomes from my friends. And then I realized “dozens of gnomes!” and failed to find the downside.

  6. June 9, 2009 12:13 pm

    I absolutely love the gnomes. I especially love the hidden ones. They’re like a surprise every time.

  7. June 11, 2009 11:44 am

    OK, so apparently I need to snoop while using your facilities! I had no idea that there were other gnomes in unsuspecting places in your bathroom. (Side note: The tampon toting one is my favorite).

  8. Margaret permalink
    June 11, 2009 11:46 pm

    Love the guardian of feminine hygiene. I need one for my bathroom too.

  9. Frank permalink
    June 12, 2009 2:01 pm

    Should I get an Icelandic gnome? I saw them in the hardware store here.

    • June 12, 2009 2:08 pm

      I can’t believe you are even asking! OF COURSE.

  10. June 12, 2009 2:09 pm

    Thanks for all the tampon-gnome bathroom love!

Leave a Reply

