Skip to content

The Dotted Line (New Things to Worry About)

July 8, 2009

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I was hesitant to write about it until the lease was signed, but I found us an awesome apartment, and I just signed the lease tonight. I am so excited. This new apartment is awesome. It’s not too far from where we are now (which is good, because this is where our friends live) and one of the small downsides is that it is a 5-minute bus ride to the subway. But what it does have? A parking spot, plenty of street parking, a full size dishwasher (a must!) and the potential to turn my pretend puppy into a real puppy! Yes – dogs are warmly accepted here. This is so incredibly exciting.  It’s also even a little less money than my current apartment. And it’s what’s known as a “garden apartment.” Which means I have courtyards, and grass and common areas, and I can walk around and not feel like I am on top of everyone else. And they have 24-hour security guards. And I can paint!

What it doesn’t have? Giant roaches. I haven’t really wanted to talk about it, because it’s so embarrassing. I have been plagued by giant, disgusting roaches. People call them waterbugs, but really – they are American cockroaches. And in my current apartment, I get about one a day. Sometimes dead – sometimes not. I walk around with Raid. These things are tremendous, and we have no idea where they are coming from. Everything is sealed,  I clean and bleach everything almost every day. It’s just out of control.  And to top it all of, the shower in the apartment above me broke, so my bathroom has to be somewhat gutted, and is now covered in garbage bags and duct tape until the super can some to put up new drywall. It’s insane here. It’s like the apartment knows I am leaving, and is just falling apart.

So, Frank and I move August 15th. Since our lease isn’t up until Sept. 1st, we will do one of those “slow moves” so it should be pretty stress free. Should, being the operative word. Of course, I am totally freaking out. The new apartment is so awesome, but since Frank is still in Iceland – he hasn’t seen it (except in pictures) and I am full of constant doubt that maybe I made the wrong choice, and what if he hates, it and blahblah. I got his blessing to go ahead, but still – picking out a place to live for someone else is a big responsiblity. I love him for trusting me.

And because I feel like you haven’t had a good dose of my neuroses in awhile, listen to today’s conundrum! I have been dealing with the current tenant of the apartment (which is a condo). The person who owns it is the tenant’s mother-in-law. So, today we were supposed to meet at a diner, so I could meet the actual owner. I was supposed to bring my credit scores and a check for the despot, and we would sign the lease. But it’s so weird. I mean, what if she hated me, or I thought she was a nut? Do we still sign? Is it just awkward? But more importantly – how does this all work?!

Do I meet them in the diner? Out? Are we having coffee? Dinner? If we eat – who pays?

These are serious questions, people!

As it turns out, I got there early and called the guy. He was across the street, so we both went in together and waited for his mother-in-law, who turned out to be a little odd, but lovely. We ordered coffee (iced) and we signed the lease. It wasn’t until it was all said and done that I remembered my credit score. Since I went through all the trouble of getting it (which was good to do anyway – yay awesome credit!) I made her take a look at it. It was so funny and different from what it was like when we rented this apartment. Because my current one is a co-op, we had to submit all sorts of financials and meet with the board. These people didn’t even ask me how much I made!

All’s well that ends well, and when Frank comes home at the end of the month, the current tenant told me to drop by to show him the apartment. He also gave me the all clear to start transferring my magazines over to the new apartment.

So excited!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2009 11:16 am

    Congrats on your new apartment. I’m sure it will be great and you can get the puppy of your dreams now!

  2. July 9, 2009 11:55 am

    Congrats on the new apartment! It sounds like you really needed the change.

  3. July 9, 2009 3:28 pm

    Congrats! That’s so awesome. What a great feeling, huh?

  4. July 9, 2009 3:42 pm

    Thanks everyone! It’s a giant weight off my mind, and now Frank and I are getting excited about decorating, purging, etc. I can’t wait for him to come home!

    I want to post pictures, but they current tenants are still living there, and it just seems creepy to post pictures of someone else’s apartment.

    This may signal the close of “The Gallery of Awful Art”

  5. July 10, 2009 7:07 am

    Congratulations! I love moving in to a new place. Ok, I hate the actual moving part, but I love having a fresh start somewhere new. I look forward to hearing about painting and choosing a dog and all that good stuff!

Trackbacks

  1. Not Quite a Refugee « You Should Only Know

Leave a Reply

