Skip to content

The Great Cupboard Cleanout

July 26, 2009

I’ve been really lazy about cooking this summer, but it just occurred to me that I am moving in about three weeks, and if I don’t eat all the food I already have – I am either going to waste/forfeit it, or have to pack it up and move it.  This does not appeal to me. So, aside from the fact that I do not want to pack food, I could use the extra money that comes from not ordering sushi every time I get hungry.

So – I give to you:  My Cupboards

This isn’t a perfect plan, since you can’t see everything that’s in there – but figure that I have most of the staples. Not shown is “whatever is behind the other cans” and a few thing of pasta. In the fridge is a bunch of waffles, lots of frozen fruit, a bag of frozen squash, a package of chicken breast, and a package of frozen red snapper. That’s it for meats, so think vegetarian. I am of course willing to buy stuff (fresh veggies, etc.) but the goal is to eat what I have. Suggestions for easy-to-moderate recipes that will use up some of my “stuff” and are somewhat summer appropriate? I feel like a lot of what I have is really heavy and good for chilis, but … it’s summer – not really feeling very chili.

Top Shelf

IMG_0182

IMG_0186

So  – whatcha got? I don’t need specific recipes – just some ideas. Ask questions, inspire me! I haven’t packed any cookware yet, so I have pots, pans, etc. I have a crockpot I have never used yet. Oh, also – I have been trying to eat somewhat healthfully lately.

Help me, internet!

Bonus picture of the strange, wavy, handprint sunburn I got today at that beach.

IMG_0185

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2009 5:57 am

    At least with the fruit, why not make a batch of smoothies? Beyond that, you could always find a food bank / homeless shelter and feed some folks with all that soup.

  2. July 28, 2009 3:04 pm

    How about a nice blackened toaster pastry risotto? Topped with a black mission fig reduction?

  3. July 29, 2009 12:26 pm

    I’ve been privy to having a “lets see what’s in Eri’s fridge/freezer/cabinets” dinner and I have to admit that it was awesome. With that being said, I don’t have any good suggestions but when you’re ready to go at the oven, let me know.

  4. July 29, 2009 12:29 pm

    Ha! A blackened toaster pastry sounds delicious with risotto. 🙂

    Your cupboards look so much better than mine.

Trackbacks

  1. Not Quite a Refugee « You Should Only Know

Leave a Reply

