Skip to content

Blog University

October 8, 2009

Lately I have been updating my blog with summaries and thoughts about the class I am taking as part of my quest for a MA in Industrial/Organizational Psychology. I started doing it for a few reasons.

  1. I am running out of brilliant blogging topics
  2. It’s probably smart to use my network to get feedback on some of these classes/my thoughts on them
  3. It really helps me not only retain the info, but think about it outside of class/studying. It’s like that oft-repeated study quote of going home and re-writing your notes.
  4. I  keep getting asked “What is I/O Psych” and I only have a decent answer half the time. I am hoping that I can educate some of my friends and family about it, and maybe – just maybe raise some awareness about the field altogether, which I think is definitely needed.

I think the posts could be a little dry, but I am getting some great feedback on them. And then I saw that Mc-Kinney Oates Cereal is writing about her MA in Marriage and Family Counseling and it was really interesting. So then I started thinking  about all the stuff I want to know more about, but don’t have the time or resources to learn. Heck, there are apparently whole degrees in subjects I didn’t even know existed.

What if we did a little Blog University? Essentially, a short-attention span-lecture series! I would highlight some bloggers (and non-bloggers) in some guest posts.  I am thinking either summaries of your class notes (if you are a student) or maybe some mini-lessons about the field you are in (or the field you wish you were in!).

Want to share basic tenets of graphic design, or a mini-law lesson on intellectual property? A primer on archaeology or some fundamentals of management. I want to learn a bit about a whole bunch of things! The big buzzword lately is “passion” (especially if you follow any of the myriad of endless Gen Y blogs…) so – let’s see some!

Check out Five Minute University!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2009 2:34 pm

    I would love that! I don’t know what I could lecture on, I mostly work in politics and immigration, which tends to be very divisive, but I’d be happy to brainstorm. More importantly, I’d be fascinated to see what everyone else shares.

    • October 8, 2009 2:55 pm

      I love divisive! What do you do in politics and immigration? What things do you think you know about that you consider essential to doing your job, but isn’t common knowledge? Do you have to know certain theories of government?

  2. October 8, 2009 3:16 pm

    Sadly, my only areas of expertise are cheap beer, dive bars and karaoke. Probably not appropriate for B.U. However, I’ll be tuning in for sure.

    • October 8, 2009 3:25 pm

      You know, I’ve been meaning to ask you – how the heck do these karaoke competitions work? Are they looking for specific things? Are there things you are judged on that the average drunk fool wouldn’t know? How do you pick a good karaoke song?

      (catchin’ my drift here?)

      • October 8, 2009 5:45 pm

        So you’re saying I should work on a Karaoke-post, eh? 🙂

        We should get shirts. Blog University shirts! Go B.U.!!!

  3. Marie permalink
    October 8, 2009 4:03 pm

    Thank you so much for sharing what you’re learning! I thought about going the I/O route so I’m LOVING that I can get the education via your blog.

    And this idea? This Blog University? Brilliant. I can’t wait to see what people share.

  4. October 12, 2009 1:06 pm

    Just don’t you forget who your first (and best) guest poster was!

Trackbacks

  1. Twitter Trackbacks for Blog University « You Should Only Know [youshouldonlyknow.com] on Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

