Skip to content

Just start writing …

October 24, 2009

I haven’t updated in awhile, but trust me – my neuroticism has kept me in the appropriate amount of guilt about it. It’s weird, because there is so much going on that it seems as if I would have a ton to post about, but I really couldn’t think of anything great. And if I could, there was really not that much time to do it!

The past week or so, and the week coming forward are just jam-packed. There literally hasn’t been a day in the past week, and isn’t until November 2nd-ish that doesn’t have something written down on the calendar. It’s mainly all good stuff and sometimes it’s just something like “Sara coming over to watch ‘So You Think You Can Dance'” but there is something about being so scheduled that has me stressed out. Like, something awesome may come up, and I won’t have time to fit it in – even though most of the stuff scheduled is the awesome stuff that I would want to schedule anyway. Who knew I had a fear of commitment?

Speaking of commitment, Frank and I celebrated six years together this weekend. I really can’t believe its been that long. I don’t want to write anything mushy or weird, because in truth – I don’t feel that mushy or weird. In my heart I already know we are going to be together for a good long time, so this seemed more inevitable than an accomplishment, but it’s nice to spend some time taking a step back and appreciating the awesome relationship we have. We celebrated with burgers. We are going to my cousin’s bat mitzvah next weekend and I think our plan is to pretend that our evening of dressing up and dancing is our fancy night out (sorry Aunt Anita, we’re broke and will need a break with reality after a weekend with Grandma 😉 )

And speaking of our relationship and commitment – we are taking it one furry step further. Despite non-stop talking about it in real life, I am somewhat loathe to talk about it on the internet (typing = jinx?) but it looks like my pretend puppy may be taking a step out of “pretend” and joining us here in the real world soon. So, that’s been taking a bunch of time and mental energy. But man oh man, she is cute.

Mental energy? I haven’t written about school for the past week or so (although I am still excited about ‘Five Minute University‘) because well — lately the classes have been kind of boring. Still interesting to me, but there is really only so many exciting ways I can spin methods of validity testing. Speaking of which, I have a mid-term on Monday and I have to remember how to study  (yes, this was written Saturday night, and I haven’t started studying yet. First lesson should probably have been  ‘don’t cram’.) After spending half a semester learning about how to create valid and reliable tests, I can’t wait to see what this professor puts on his own!

The other thing that’s been taking up the bulk of my brain power is my job. I don’t like to talk too much about the nitty-gritty here (because my boss and co-workers read this! Hi!!!) but I’ve been going in a bit of a different direction and working more within social media, and the best way I can describe it is immersive. I already know quite a bit, but the position requires me to become a bit more of an expert in the markets we serve and the issues each market is talking about. I am really, really enjoying it and I think it uses some of the better parts of my brain (and exercises the anxiety I have about potentially misrepresenting my company) and I know it will get easier – but now, when I come home? I am exhausted.

So, we have all that going on. Add in an increased focus on making sure Frank and I are on a budget and moving forward with our financial goals, three book clubs, cheering on the-friend-of-a-friend who is in the Top 20 of So You Think You Can Dance, focusing more on my physical health and way too much Farmville – and that’s where I’ve been.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 26, 2009 12:31 pm

    You ARE busy, aren’t ya? Happy anniversary to you and Frank, btw.

Leave a Reply

