Skip to content

The Secret Life of Eva (or) Nice Ink, Big Dawg!

December 17, 2009
tags: ,

It’s been about a month since we brought home Eva. She’s arguably the cutest dog in the planet, and I cannot even begin to tell you how much I love her, or how happy I am she lives with us, or how adorable it is how Frank is so in love with this 95-pound package of waggy-tail snore-farts. I mean, look at her!

That pig shin was completely eaten in less than 10 minutes.

There is so much we don’t know about her. What did she look like as a puppy? How could whoever obviously loved and trained her let her go? What breed-mix is she? (we are guessing Akita and Shepherd and maybe some lab or pit) How did she get so damn cute? And of course – “Where the hell did she get that bitchin’ ink?” and “Who the hell tattooed my dog, and why?”

Yes, as we were scratching her tummy, we realized that Eva may have been part of a motorcycle gang, or perhaps tried to spell out “squirrel warrior” in kanji.

I offer evidence.

The location of the tattoo

In situ:

Evidence of Eva's drunken night of shame?

Close-up:

This is a tattoo, right?

So, Frank and I have some guesses as to what this could be, or why she has it – but I am curious to hear if anyone  has any other theories, or an actual answer? Who inked my dog, and why?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2009 11:25 am

    Your dog is adorable! So cute!

    It does look like a tattoo. It’s in a weird spot too. Hmmm… motorcycle gang it is.

  2. December 17, 2009 11:34 am

    Did you get your dog from a shelter? One of my cats had a tattoo I didn’t know about until I took her in for a vet visit that involved a bit of belly shaving.

    Some shelters tattoo animals – usually there’s a number, and my cat had a little heart as well. It helps to identify them if they ever get lost, and you haven’t sprung for an RFID chip. Also, if a shelter picks up a lost animal, they can sometimes track down the original owner from their own records or that of another shelter.

    The odd thing is that the shelters don’t seem to go out of their way to point this out – you and I were both ignorant of this important and useful bodmod on our pets.

Leave a Reply

