Skip to content

A Year In Review

December 30, 2009

happy 2010
I’ve been off of work since the day before Christmas Eve, and I’ve lost all track of time.  Frank leaves on Sunday for some crazy non-existent island, and since we decided to finally spend a New Year’s Eve at home,  I didn’t realize what day it was, until I looked through my Google Reader and saw everyone doing year-end wrap-up posts.  Seems like a good idea. I have been so busy with the hosting and the getting Frank ready and the sleeping late and watching Bones and prison shows, that I haven’t really had time reflect. And I’m always making resolutions in my head that get broken the first time a cookie makes an appearance, so reflection seems to make more sense than planning.

P.S. Prison shows are awesome! Frank and I go through phases of TV shows that we can’t enough of. Move over Dog Whisperer and Hoarders and make room for Hard Times, Lock-Up: San Quentin, Corcoran and Raw. And Alaska State Troopers.  I like to think about how I would “do my time” and in what possible instances could I ever end up in prison.

I’ve had this blog a little over a year. My first post was about my random grandma and since then have been about everything from the realizing I’m an adult, magazine advertisements, Yiddish and notes from my life with Frank. I’ve had a few big internet-famous moments, like my shout-out from the alice.com blog about my bathroom gnomes and being listed as a liked blog by my eternal blog-crush.  I’ve made some awesome friends and I am always bowled over and shocked to find out who is reading my lunchtime blog.

Despite the new self-hosting, I am not sure what else to write about. I keep coming back to the idea that I should have some sort of personal brand, or be an expert on something I am passionate about – but I generally hate reading those blogs. So, if no one minds – I am just going to keep doing a mix of the two. Some “professional” stuff, maybe a bit more politics and anecdotes about my family, friends and dog.

Yes, the dog! The pretend puppy is now a real, live dog. Eva is just the coolest thing, ever. The only thing that would make her more awesome would be if she got along with other dogs. We are working on it. Oh, and if she could walk herself or magically get us a backyard, that would earn her bonus points and a piece of hot dog (which she could dip in the ketchup I accidentally squirted on her head this evening.)

What else happened this year in my personal life? There’s the whole “moving” thing, and we still love our new apartment. My little sister moved out and now has her own apartment, so that’s exciting. Frank and I went on a cruise. My mom is making her health a priority, and that’s great. And inspiring. And my grandparents in Florida finally moved into assisted living, so that’s a huge worry off my shoulders. I started grad school and now have to figure out if I am going to continue it. I’ve also started to really take control of my personal finances and am hoping to see some major strides in the upcoming year. I’ve also done a bit (but not as much I hope to do next year) with Figment Theatre and our Nerd Trivia events. That’s been so much fun and a great way to hang out with my talented, brilliant and hysterical friends.

Professionally? I think I started the year as the manager of customer service, as part of a marketing department. As the year progressed, I did more marketing and less customer service. As the year is ending, I still do what I used to do but now manage the social media interactions of the company. Which, despite all my protestations and reluctance, I love doing.  So, that’s exciting and I’m looking forward to growing and learning.

And, that’s about it.  It hasn’t been a really awesome year, but there isn’t too much to complain about (which is obviously a lie, because just read the archives–all I do is whine).  It’s been a helluva year. Thanks so much for being a part of it. And please, let me know who you are. It makes me so happy. Comment on posts you like, e-mail me, become a fan on Facebook or follow me on Twitter.

Happy New Year, Sweet Internet

6 Comments
  1. December 30, 2009 10:57 pm

    Ahem…AND you reconnected with a particular young lady and fellow partner in awesome…(just sayin’).
    .-= LittleMissSarcasm´s last blog ..My So Called Dating Life – How a Debonair Lumberjack Made Himself a Fixture in my Life (Part I) =-.

    • December 30, 2009 11:57 pm

      Totally true! This edges 2009 up a little in the “overall great” category.

  2. Frank permalink
    December 31, 2009 12:13 pm

    I’d like to emphasize that you squirted ketchup on our dog!

  3. Vince permalink
    December 31, 2009 1:47 pm

    This newfound attachments to prison life is… concerning. I did /totally/ get what you meant about Eva walking herself, though. If only Jasper could figure out indoor plumbing…

  4. January 4, 2010 1:24 pm

    Happy New Year! I love Eva updates!
    .-= Kim´s last blog ..Top 20 Songs of 2009 =-.

  5. January 4, 2010 4:21 pm

    Happy New Year!
    .-= MeredithElaine´s last blog ..Cute lunch stuff – bento boxes!! =-.

Comments are closed.

