Skip to content

Internet Sanity?

January 7, 2010

Fight, debate, discuss–whatever you want to call it, I generally like to do it. Maybe it’s just a lot of high school Government/debate classes, but I can generally pick a side and argue it until I am blue in the face.

Sometimes its stuff I actually care about, but really – I have been known to defend Paris Hilton and designer handbags. This came into full force on an online community, where this kind of behavior wasn’t actually encouraged, but it happened all the time and was affectionately titled “Going IC” (Internet Crazy). Going IC is this horrible, awful compunction to respond to every asinine comment made on the internet. You know you are right, and if you quote every single thing some dumb ass said, maybe you can finally win at the internet. You post, you step back. You hit refresh, hoping for a response. You step away from the computer and then immediately come back. Hit refresh! Did they respond? Ohmygod, he’s so wrong. Refute! Refute! Post. Refresh. This is futile. The internet always wins.

Usually, I am better in person. Some of you reading the blog may be surprised to hear me say that, since I am pretty fight-y in real life too. But I promise you – I am worse on the internet. Scary, right? But for the most part, because I have a desire to get along with most people and don’t have access to Wikipedia to post blistering facts and supporting documentation, I manage to not be a total jerk to most people, most of the time. Besides, it’s easier being a Tough Guy on the internet.

But lately, I am just bored with all the conversations that would usually rile me up. I don’t know if it’s maturity (*snort*), ennui or something else. But nothing is grabbing me. Which also means that I haven’t been posting a lot, because I can’t seem to get all feisty over something. Or I can, but I am just no longer interested in hearing what other people have to say.

For example, V Magazine did this great photo spread with some heavy women in various states of undress. I thought this was awesome. I wanted to post it here, and I also posted it to said internet forum. And then I immediately regretted it. It just became the same old conversations and it took some of the joy out of sharing what I thought was a positive step towards acceptance of different types of beauty. And some cool role models. And it made me not want to share it, because I don’t want to hear rhetoric about how all women are beautiful no matter what their shape, or the discussion about BMI as a health indicator, or the inevitable bashing of skinny women as unhealthy, anorexic or somehow less “real” than these so-called “real women” models. And that stinks, because I want to share this cool link, and I am not even sure what I want people to say about it, or what I personally have to say about it.  I was just excited about a plus-size fashion shoot with actual folds of flesh and where women weren’t just wearing corsets or looking over their shoulder to hide their tummies. There’s a tremendous amount of retouching, but I don’t care.

And gay marriage is back on the political landscape and I am just so sick of talking about it. It’s not only infuriating that it keeps being shot down, but it makes me absolutely insane with incredulity that anyone even gets a vote on this.  Since when is providing equal rights something people vote on? And I just have no interest in discussing this. If someone feels differently, I just … don’t want to hear about it. I suppose that wins me some sort of scarlet liberal elite button, but I can only think to wear it with pride.

The same goes for discussing the “merits” of creationism, the sensationalism of the media, if lab-created meat is vegan or a million other things that are just done to death. I’m tired of engaging with people whose minds are never going to change, or rehashing old arguments ad nauseum.

This is such a whiny, antagonistic post. I didn’t mean for it to be. But I think overall, it’s either a really mature stance (feeling confident enough in my opinion to not feel the burning desire to prove others wrong) or incredibly immature (so close-minded and self-righteous that you won’t entertain other’s opinions).  I report, you decide!

6 Comments
  1. January 7, 2010 10:44 pm

    I’m not one to hold my tongue in real life but the internet just doesn’t seem worth it. I say your stance is a good stance.
    .-= Alana´s last blog ..Look on down from the bridge =-.

  2. January 8, 2010 9:41 am

    I love a good debate or argument as much as the next person, but it can get exhausting. At some point, when you know the other person (or people) doesn’t share your POV, you’re just going to end up circling around the same arguments over and over.

    Gay marriage, for example – I agree with you (why do we let people vote), but I can yell till I’m blue in the face at someone who opposes gay marriage and neither one of us are going to change our minds. At some point, I think you do have to keep your sanity and just walk away. I know that seems depressing and cynical, but if the alternative is going insane trying to “correct” everyone, I’d rather have my sanity and the internal knowledge that I know I’m right.
    .-= Meredith´s last blog ..Placing the Blame =-.

  3. January 8, 2010 12:00 pm

    It seems that almost everything I read online these days pisses me off. Posts, comments, all of it. And I’m not a confrontational person at all. Never have been. But my blood pressure just keeps rising over this stuff.

    That’s when I make a cryptic, passive-agressive comment on Twitter. 9 times out of 10 it’s because of something stupid (IMO) that someone else said online.
    .-= MeredithElaine´s last blog ..Cute lunch stuff – bento boxes!! =-.

  4. January 8, 2010 9:09 pm

    love the cartoon. I’ve seen it before. I wish i had it on a shirt!

  5. January 8, 2010 9:11 pm

    and thanks for putting up that link. I just checked it out quickly. gorgeous GORGEOUS women.
    .-= April´s last blog ..Dash =-.

  6. January 11, 2010 1:55 pm

    I’m right there with you. I was a fiery Internet debater in my youth and I even had a brief resurgence during the 2008 election. For the most part though I’ve seen its futility and the antagonism just isn’t worth it because, yes, people are closed-off and typically too set in their ways to consider another point of view.

    The internet may or may not make you stupid, but it certainly makes you misanthropic.

Comments are closed.

