Skip to content

Always Prepared

January 12, 2010

I was leaving Dunkin’ Donuts on Friday morning and I passed by this guy on line.  I just got a look at him out of the corner of my eye, and I could swear it was Joss Whedon.  I love Joss Whedon. I froze. I panicked. I didn’t want a repeat of the Kevin Smith Horror Show and I wanted to do this right. I mean, Joss!

It wasn’t Joss. It was just some random, somewhat schlubby looking guy who wanted a pumpkin muffin. It was a close call, but I am proud to report that I was actually ready. I actually knew that I would in fact say something (I would probably outwardly ignore most celebrities) and had a pretty good idea of what I would have said (something about Firefly being awesome and never forgiving him for killing off my boy). This my friends, is progress.

I spent the rest of my walk to work debating over if I would buy him coffee, and how would I manage that since I had already paid. Would he really let me take out my wallet and treat him? Wouldn’t that be a little weird? But that would be a nice way to show appreciation, right?

These are the questions that plague me.

And as of now, I really can’t think of another celebrity that I would actually try to speak to. I mean, if I run into Kevin Smith again, I have an opening. Joss, I am apparently prepared for (as long as it isn’t in a coffee shop). Who else is there? My beloved Patrick Swayze is dead, and David Duchovny has creeped me out. I should probably prepare something for Lucy Lawless, Neil Patrick Harris, Alyson Hannigan, Mel Brooks, Nathan Fillion and Edward James Olmos.

Yeah, I’m not creepy at all.

Who are you prepared for? Or do normal people not do this?

8 Comments
  1. January 13, 2010 12:27 am

    I totally forgot about this conversation while I was writing also. Actually I was pretty much distracted the whole time with figuring out how to write about the end of the post because otherwise there would’ve been a lot more about how hilarious you are.
    .-= Alana´s last blog ..California here we come, right back where we started from =-.

  2. Vince permalink
    January 13, 2010 10:01 am

    I’ve already got it all figured out, I plan to start with a “BUH!” and then move on to an insightful stammer and nervous titter. I may, or may not, wet myself — that part is still in the development stages.

    Loved this post! 🙂

  3. January 13, 2010 11:00 am

    I am never prepared. Not that I really meet a lot of “famous” people. The few meet & greets I’ve been to at concerts, I come across as a bumbling 14 year old. And we’re not even talking the upper echelon of rock stars here. *sigh*

    My friend from college, however, meets people everywhere. He lives in NYC and works for an airline, so it’s probably no surprise. He always tweets or FBs some status update about how nice so-and-so was. I live vicariously through him, I suppose.
    .-= MeredithElaine´s last blog ..Tales from the Bar #2 =-.

  4. January 13, 2010 12:29 pm

    I’m never prepared as we don’t get many celebrities down here and the ones I have seen, I’ve ignored because I couldn’t believe that they were who they were. If that sentence doesn’t make sense, I’m sorry.

  5. marisa permalink
    January 13, 2010 7:24 pm

    Erica dont pretend like this is your first time at the rodeo… you had excellent training. Or maybe you have already forgotten when Dad payed for the pint of ice cream that belonged to the girl who stared in Phenom we met in Baskin Robbins

    • January 13, 2010 7:57 pm

      Angela Goethals! I still have that signed Baskin-Robbins napkin.

      I have met a handful of “celebrities.” I just want to be prepared! Also, I forgot to add Jon Stewart to that list. I wouldn’t even know how to prepare for that one. I am still not quite sure how he isn’t my husband.

  6. January 15, 2010 12:14 am

    If I ever have the pleasue of seeing Joss Whedon in real life I might hyperventilate and pass slap out. After awakening I’d like to ask him why he keeps going back to Fox knowing they untimely cancel everything he does.

  7. January 16, 2010 10:59 pm

    Oddly, this always seem to come to my mind when I’m having a cigarette by myself. I imagine various famous people (and occasionally fictional characters) whom I adore asking me for one, and I then imagine what sort of conversation we would have while smoking together. Sadly it’s never actually come up.
    .-= Lindsay´s last blog ..Things are looking up =-.

Comments are closed.

