Skip to content

My Greatest Achievement in Preparedness

January 28, 2010

I’ve been working on being a grown-up. I  know that sounds absurd coming from a woman in her late-twenties who has a full-time job, healthcare and a retirement account, but for some reason none of those things make me feel like an adult. We learned a while back that things like having toothbrushes available for friends makes me feel like a grown-up. Having matching plates, getting oil changes on time, never running out of paper towels and not only having a spare key, but knowing where one is–those are the things that make me feel like a big girl.  And I’ve been trying to be more organized.

And really, I’ve gotten much better. I use my calendars and write my notes. I try to think ahead and make life a little easier on myself.

Today was my shining moment.

When I took the dog for a walk this morning, it was brisk out. By the time I got the dog in, there were gentle flurries. After a shower, putting on clothing (laid out the night before) and accessories (inspired by Carolann) and I left the house (after successfully locating my gloves and scarf, thoughtfully placed in one convenient location) it was full on snowing.*

I got to the office, feet soaked. My adorable boots apparently have a hole in the sole (note: bring to cobbler). And here is where my first feat of awesome grown-up-ness came in.

I took off my boots and put on the neutral-colored flats I have left in the office.

Not actual shoe, but pretty close!

It looked nice! In fact, I even got a compliment on my outfit. Yes, my wet jean cuffs made my feet a little cold, but I still read: adult.

I know, this alone would be enough for gasps of admiration from my peers. But wait–there’s more!

When leaving the office (it’s Grandma’s birthday today — I want to tell more stories, but we are in Terror Alert Yellow as she has found my blog, so all grandma posts are password protected. I believe the situation has been contained and she has only seen the “about” page, but until I’m sure, we’re on lockdown) I realized I couldn’t put back on my boots, because my socks were still soaking wet. Have you ever put on wet socks? Awful. I could wear the flats home, but it’s really, really cold in NYC today.

But then, something amazing happened. I reached into my desk drawer, past the oatmeal, beyond the cinnamon shakers, spare birthday cards and antacids and pulled out my crowning achievement.

Hallelujah!

Yes, that’s right. I had, at some point, when bringing home a gym bag, decided to leave a pair of socks in my office for an emergency. I was prepared. I put on my socks, smiled and then ran out to buy my grandma a gift because I totally forgot.

*At this point in time, an adult would have gone back inside to put on actual snow boots. And probably wouldn’t have been running late for work. But I need some goals to strive towards.

6 Comments
  1. January 28, 2010 10:27 pm

    This is truly amazing. You’ve certainly surpassed me in adult preparedness. The socks aspect of this is over the top.
    .-= Ask a Manager / Alison Green´s last blog ..coworker brushes hair with fork, cleans false teeth at desk =-.

    • January 28, 2010 10:38 pm

      Thank you. Truly. I am so glad someone else understands what a monumental achievement this was.

  2. January 29, 2010 11:01 am

    Great job on the preparedness. I am working my way up to that. I even have band-aids at work. Hello Kitty, but still. No socks though.

  3. January 31, 2010 5:03 pm

    hilarious. I’m telling you that when I worked I could be snowed in the office for days and survive and look and smell good. Seriously. Between the little fluff and puff bag I kept in the bathroom and the stash in my desk drawer I was set. Good work!
    .-= April´s last blog ..annoyances. =-.

  4. February 1, 2010 3:12 pm

    I bow in reverence to your greatness. I need to work on more grown-uppy/preparedness things.
    .-= MeredithElaine´s last blog ..Tales from the Bar #3 =-.

Trackbacks

  1. Oh, I didn’t tell you about Grandpa? — You Should Only Know

Comments are closed.

