Skip to content

Snow, Tissues and Plumbers

February 11, 2010

This was the week of the whole snowstorm that covered the Northeast. I think. I haven’t really been paying attention because since Friday night, I’ve been home sick.  I briefly braved the outside world on Saturday morning to take Eva to the doctor and go food shopping, but other than that – I haven’t left the apartment.

It started with just a small fever and a sore throat. And that stuck around for awhile. Then it was just general ickiness and malaise. And some gross coughing. At some point it turned into sneezing and a runny nose. That’s pretty much where it is now. No, I haven’t gone to the doctor. Partially because it’s too snowy to drive and I would have to walk in the snow, and I have a feeling that’s probably not a good idea. Also partially because I kind of had a fight with him after the whole “prescription incident.

Depending on the day, I”ve been either been working from home or calling in sick to work and laying on the couch and watching Bones, House, prison shows or Ghost Hunters.  I’m all out. My DVR recording is now down to 27% and now all that’s left is some NOVA shows and Dave Ramsey. I still can’t decide how much I hate that guy, but I can’t bring myself to delete it. It’s like Suze Orman methadone.

The big excitement of the week? The toilet was running and I was all “I could handle this! I’m a capable young woman!” and I took off the top of the toilet tank and water was going everywhere. I jiggled the balloon-thing-a-mabob. It broke off in my hands. Seriously. Hours before snowmageddon was about to begin. The maintenance guy came and turned off the water-thingy. And then he wanted $250 cash to fix it. And my landlord called and was awesome. And then she got into a fight with the maintenance guy and then he refused to work on my apartment. (See people, it’s not just me!)

Long story short, Frank tried to convince me that the toilet was fine and we could pretend we were camping and flush it with buckets or something. I took myself off of liquids (bad idea when you have a cold) and plumbers came in the morning. And now it flushes even better than it did before! These are the things that are exciting when you haven’t left the house in SIX DAYS!!!!

Bonus: I have no idea why I thought this IM conversation was funny, but I wrote it down because it cracked me up for like 15 minutes. Now that my temperature is back to normal, I no longer know. But I still want to share. Enjoy.

Friend: can i be married to channing tatum?
Me: no. he boiled his penis. and he’s married to Jenna Dewan
Me: But, he did have a Funfetti wedding cake. So, that’s pretty redeeming.
Friend: really? that’s awesome
Me: these are the things I know.
Friend: that’s why we like you

Bonus-Bonus: Frank bundled me up and we took Eva outside to play. She loves the snow. We took her to this fenced-in area, and I threw snowball after snowball for her to chase. It was the cutest fun, ever. I love this dog.

3 Comments
  1. Frank permalink
    February 12, 2010 7:43 am

    The toilet was usable! You just had to fill the tank by turning the main water valve on for a minute or so!

    You held it in for nothing!

  2. February 12, 2010 9:57 am

    Some dogs just love snow. It’s so cute.

    I hope you get to feeling better soon!
    .-= Kim´s last blog ..The Life Project-Part Two =-.

  3. Frank permalink
    February 14, 2010 1:00 pm

    ANNNNDDD why’d you use my peepee pants picture?

Comments are closed.

