Skip to content

I’m going to BlogHer! Help?

July 26, 2010

This totally snuck up on me. I’ve been really bad lately about keeping the ‘ole personal blog updated, and that means I’ve been lack in the self-promoting and friend-stalking that is my normal internet life. I think it’s because I have been really busy being an Internet Stalker and Social Media Person for my actual day job. So, I kind of forgot about BlogHer’10, despite the fact that it is the actual, wonderful day job that is sponsoring my attendance.

No, not because they also hope that stories about my grandma and admonishment about your IRA is my ticket to success, but because they pay me to do interesting and productive things with social media, and one of the markets we are trying to reach (and refocus some of my efforts on) are the moms and professional bloggers and how to reach them, and what they are interested in.

By the way, when I say professional bloggers, I don’t mean bloggers who get paid to blog, but rather people who blog about their profession. Is there another word for that? Career Bloggers? Specifically, I want Education Career Bloggers. Teachers who blog? Help?

ANYWAY – I am going to BlogHer and have no idea what to expect. And I haven’t prepared for anything, because … I didn’t know I had to prepare for anything other than walking around and bringing back swag. I was apparently supposed to make sure I had invites to parties. Which I didn’t have. But I magic-ed up an invite to Sparklecorn. I have no idea what it’s about, but it promises both Sparkles and Unicorns. That has to be good, right?

And I think I may have inspired or at least participate in some sort of Newbie Tweetup, and there’s a meet-up breakfast for Newbies, being arranged by StricklySouthern, so – I have that. Other than that, help? What should I be doing, seeing or put on my list of things to avoid or have happen. Am I supposed to have goals and takeaways? ‘Cause all I have on my plate are those two events, a reminder to wear comfy shoes, bring business cards and to not try to plan too much. But I’m an anxious psycho, so … that’s not going to happen.

P.S. Does everyone else see “Frogger” in their head when they say BlogHer out loud? Is it just me?

One Comment
  1. Becca permalink
    July 31, 2010 9:46 pm

    Don’t stress! It’ll be great and you’ll fine. Go with the flow.

    Plus, hello? You got invite that involved glitter and unicorns. I feel like that makes you set, if not for life, then surely for the conference.

    When/where is it?

Comments are closed.

