Skip to content

The New Look and Housekeeping

August 17, 2010

There’s lots of excitement here at You Should Only Know. In the past few weeks, I’ve re-launched the site as a “Guide to Modern Manners and Sticky Situations.” It’s still me, and still the same writing style, but now instead of posts complaining about my grandma, it will be posts with suggestions on what gifts are appropriate to give to the wonderful people at the rehab center who have just caught your grandma trying to escape, claiming to be FBI.

Welcome Ebates Customers!

Why am I explaining all of this again? Because hopefully, we have lots of new people reading the site today. I was honored to write a guest post for Ebates.com (a company I love, and wrote about my experience some time ago).

It was edited a bit, but I wanted to note that the post was inspired by my long-suffering boyfriend, Frank.

Frank is one of those great guys who carries maps, knows at least 15 kinds of edible wild plants in the area and how to safely tie things on to our roof rack. He’s pretty much MacGyver. His dirty secret? He loves bags. Not man-purses, but real “man” bags. They are usually waterproof, with pockets for all sorts of things. And he keeps them stocked. It doesn’t matter if the zombies finally rise, or if there’s a flash flood. Frank can grab one of his bags and lead us to safety. I admire this in a person.

In honor of Frank, I have prepared my own list of emergency items, practically guaranteed to get you out of a myriad of sticky social situations and climb out of etiquette breech. Please be sure to check out my Sticky Situations Emergency Kit on Ebates.com!

I hope the savvy shoppers at Ebates will stay awhile and subscribe to my feed, or ask a question about a gift-giving, fashion or social situation of their own. You can ask me a question by email, or leaving a comment.

Snazzin’ the Place Up

If you are reading this on your RSS reader, please click on over! In honor of the re-launch, I redesigned YouShouldOnlyKnow.com. I’d love your feedback on the new design, and if there are any features that you would like to see.

And if you like me here, don’t forget to like me on Facebook! It’s nice to put faces to names, and I’ll be putting up some questions there that don’t quite make it to the site.

6 Comments
  1. August 17, 2010 11:07 am

    Love the new look! =)

  2. August 17, 2010 11:22 am

    Love the new look and the new focus. I enjoy advice columns as well, so I’m looking forward to the new stuff. (I mean, would do you get for those rehab people?) As a matter of being completely curious – who did the blog redesign?

    • August 17, 2010 11:50 am

      Anything but chocolates! They are so sick of chocolates. They also aren’t allowed to accept gifts while the patient is still there, but I tend to bring in food that’s healthy or substantial. And then, when she is finally released, you can give them a nice gift certificate or something. I prefer ones that can be used as cash – like American Express.

      And this awesome design was done by a combination of my friend Rachel for the design inspiration and all the other hard work was done by Melissa at http://emtwowebstudios.com/

  3. August 17, 2010 5:50 pm

    Erica, this is awesome!!! YAY! Can we do lunch or something in the city? I think I’m finally caught up on sleep from BlogHer!

    • August 17, 2010 10:53 pm

      Absolutely! I’ll email you and we can figure out a date.

  4. August 18, 2010 1:36 am

    I love this blog design – I like the modern cameo-esque face at the top 🙂

Comments are closed.

