Skip to content

What a long, strange trip it’s been..

March 30, 2011

Some of the best parts about being a blogger is that you get to share and you have a community and you get almost immediate feedback. But, you are also constantly weighing what’s appropriate to share, what’s not, who could get hurt, what the fallout would be.  Especially so for a personal blogger like me. And then sometimes, there are stories you can’t share. Maybe they’re about family, or people you love or maybe you’ve been considering leaving your job and since everyone you know at work reads your blog, it’s not something you would want to share.

That’s what happened to me. And it stunk, because there’s a lot of wonderful people in my network would could have helped me find a job, and I had a lot of funny stories along the way that would have been great to share. It’s also a fine line because even though I’m not hiding anything I’ve written, when you know that potential employers are going to be googling you, and your blog is on the resume – you definitely think more than twice about what you post.

So, that’s my big news. I’m more than halfway through my last week at a company I love very much, and starting a new job (that I think I will also love very much) next week. And now I can tell all of you guys all of that!

After a long, long series of interviews, and a few other positions that didn’t quite match what I was going for (would you believe I was considering a position as the head of communications at a church?) I accepted a position as PR Manager of an email company.

Leaving my current company is absolutely the right decision. I’ve been there a month shy of six years, and it’s been my first job since college. It’s time to move on, but it’s incredibly hard when you love the company and the people. It’s incredibly surreal that I won’t be seeing these folks every day, but the opportunity I’ve accepted is really incredible and I think overall is a great next step for me.  So, I’m preparing to move on – but it really is incredibly bittersweet. And the outpouring of affection and friendship and support has me absolutely overwhelmed.  I can’t believe this chapter is over. I’ve been on the verge of tears at least 3 times today, and I expect to fully lose my composure on Friday. But at least I won’t have to face anyone on Monday. Oh my god, I won’t see these people on Monday. See? I’m a mess.

So, that’s what’s going in my world. I missed you little blog. But between the not being able to share, the consuming time-suck that is looking for a job and some freelance work  – something had to give.

What should you expect from this blog going forward? Probably a bunch more personal stories, definitely some etiquette/manners questions as they come in, and a random mish-mosh of stuff. The truth is, I’m not entirely sure and for once – I’m going to try not to overthink it too much.

Stop laughing!

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Dan permalink
    April 6, 2011 2:34 pm

    I just wanted to say I love your blog. I just read about it at Ask A Manager, came over to browse and I love it 🙂

    Thanks for sharing.

    Dan

Leave a Reply

