Skip to content

Thank You Notes (and a Wonderpuggy Giveaway!)

May 3, 2011

Guest post by Carolann DeMatos  |  Wonderpug Graphics

Several months ago I sent a couple a baby gift. I went to multiple stores, spent hours combing through racks of newborn clothing, and collected little keepsakes in order to create the ‘perfect gift’ for their perfect new addition. I sent the gift on it’s way hoping to not only show the recipients how happy I was for them, but to show that they are in fact special to me and worth my time/effort in bringing their little family a smile.

Yesterday I received a thank you note. After weeks of hearing nothing, I was overjoyed to get this little missive. Within the envelope there was nothing fancy, just a simple ‘Thank you’. It made my day {just as I hoped my gift would make theirs}.

Sending a thank you note is not rocket science – in fact, expressing gratitude is one of the easiest ways for an individual to make an {albeit small} difference in this world. There is nothing like walking to your mail box – normally full of bills and junk catalogs and more bills – and in the midst of all that monotonous garbage, pulling out a hand-written thank-you note. There is nothing like opening a letter from a friend and seeing the words ‘Thank you’, ‘We appreciate you’, ‘We are happy to have you in our world.’

Maybe you are unsure of what to say in your little note? Well, here are three sure-fire hits that will take you no more than five minutes to compose.

  1. Explain to the sender how you will use the sent object. Believe me, it is pretty easy to do. If you received a bowl of fruit – tell the sender how much you enjoyed this treat for breakfast. If you received a salad spinner – tell the sender how your salads are now much more delicious thanks to her thoughtful gift.  If you received a box of diapers – make a little joke about how this thoughtful gift made your day a little less stinky.
  2. Share a thoughtful and relevant quote. Three of my favorites are:
    • ‘Not what we give, But what we share, For the gift without the giver Is bare.’  {James Russell Lowell}
    • ‘I feel a very unusual sensation – if it is not indigestion, I think it must be gratitude.’  {Benjamin Disraeli}
    • ‘What we have done for ourselves alone dies with us; what we have done for others and the world remains and is immortal.’  {Albert Pike}
  3. Simply write Thank-you. It is easy. ‘Dear friend, Thank you. Warm Regards.’ Five words that will bring someone a smile and express to them that you care more for them than their monetary shipments.

Note: Don’t be embarrassed or excuse yourself from expressing your gratitude  if your handwriting is not perfect, or if you do not have the perfect card. Sending a note on a piece of {clean} lined-paper is more than acceptable. Having a little slant or scribble  to your script sends a little piece of you along with the note.

In order to help you get over at least one of those hurdles, Erica and I are going to send one lucky ‘You Should Only Know’ reader a special thank-you note grab bag.

To Enter:

  • Visit Wonderpug Graphics Etsy Shop and then leave a comment with what your thank you note would say if you received a gift from this store!

Updated: Apparently my vague instructions are too vague. In order to enter, just leave a comment on this blog with something related to either thank you notes or Carolann’s gorgeous Etsy store. – Erica
Extra Entries:

OR shop, shop, SHOP now with this  10% off discount code ‘ERICAKNOWS’, good on any item  in Wonderpug Graphics’s Etsy Shop.

The winner will be selected and announced on Tuesday, May 10th.

——-
Carolann DeMatos is the owner of Wonderpug Graphics Design Company and Wonderpug Graphics Etsy Shop. When she is not designing she writes on her blog and tweets-a-plenty.  She loves to write thoughtful thank you notes with the aid of her Wonderpug, Frank.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2011 11:00 pm

    I’m glad to see someone else who loves sending Thank You notes. I just sent out a big batch from my birthday!

    My thank you notes tend to read something like this:

    Dear Friend,
    Thank you for your generous gift. I can’t wait to wear the earrings. They match perfectly with my favorite top!
    Lots of Love,
    Leanna

  2. Jill permalink
    May 4, 2011 9:13 am

    Three cheers for thank you notes!

    Dear Friend,

    Thank you for the beautiful gift! The cards are beautiful and inspiring and I can’t wait to use them. Thanks again,
    Jill

  3. Keren permalink
    May 4, 2011 4:10 pm

    Dear Friend-

    Thank you so much for spending time yesterday helping me with my career goals and resume restructuring. I know this is a tedious job and I really appreciate your help and expertise! The fact that you took time out of your busy evenings to do this for me really means a lot.

    You are a wonderful friend, and I am lucky to have you around!

    Love,
    K

  4. Georgie permalink
    May 6, 2011 11:02 am

    Yeah for Thank you notes!

    Dear Friend,

    Thank you so much for the lovely note cards. You know me well, and they are just perfect! I will use them often. The best gift, however, is your friendship. Thanks for the lovely gift and everything you do!

    Love,

    me

Trackbacks

  1. This is the new normal. — You Should Only Know

Leave a Reply

