Skip to content

This is the new normal.

May 24, 2011

Hi. I feel like this blog post has been hanging over my head, and I don’t even know how to write it. And I’m not even sure what I want to say, but I need to say something.

The past few weeks, I’ve been thinking about the blog. The etiquette thing is fun, but I haven’t been keeping to it the way I should. And I lost my oomph. But then I felt stupid changing it, because well — I have a pretty header, and don’t know how to change the tagline. (Seriously, this is the kind of stuff that trips me up.) And I wanted to write about personal stuff, but all of my friends and family who want me to write about personal stuff forgets that they are part of my personal stuff. None of them recognize themselves as totally nuts, apparently.

So, then I did a blog giveaway about thank you notes. And while the lovely Carolann offered up an amazing prize – it didn’t get a lot of attention. And I feel awful about it. I still need to pick the winner (and I will!) but I needed to get this post out first.

I have a lot of thank you cards to write now. My dad passed away on May 13th. I think I am going to need to write about this. And my life, and my family and the mess that he left. And the people that stepped up and did amazing things for me. And while I can’t really write too much about the people who did or are doing less than amazing things, knowing I have an outlet of some sort, will help. And I think I need this to go back to being my personal blog.

I don’t really have a direction. It will probably be about my family (whatever stories are still appropriate to tell), the daily crazy things that happen to me, books I’m reading, the occasional rants about etiquette or advice columns or … I guess I’m going back to the beginning – when I first started this blog. Or rather when I re-christened it Lunchtime Blogging in 2009. I miss that.  I promise to not always be a downer, but I can’t promise it won’t ever happen. This is my new normal.

 

 

15 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2011 8:50 pm

    I am so so sorry for your loss. I wish I had something more helpful to say, or something less trite than “my heart goes out to you,” but that really is how I feel. The dead dad club sucks, and I’m sorry you’re in it. Please let me know if there’s anything I can do.

    • May 24, 2011 8:55 pm

      Thanks Alana. It’s a seriously shitty club. And just being nice is enough. I just really miss my dad.

    • May 25, 2011 5:48 pm

      Thanks Alana. I really, really wish I wasn’t in this club, but knowing there are people out there who also find themselves with this kind of sucky membership helps.

  2. May 24, 2011 11:43 pm

    So sorry to hear about your dad. =( I know that has to be really rough, but it sounds like you have a good support system in place. I hope you and your family are okay.

    • May 25, 2011 5:47 pm

      Thanks. We’ll be okay, and believe it or not, my Internet Friends have been a pretty awesome support system as well.

  3. May 25, 2011 10:01 am

    Here’s another vote for the club seriously sucking.

    I’m so sorry. I hope you’re doing as okay as can be under the circumstances.

  4. May 25, 2011 12:20 pm

    I’m really, really sorry for your loss! I fully understand your need to write some things out.

    I have thoroughly enjoyed your blog, so if you intend to keep it public and keep the feed going, I will keep reading.

    Best wishes!
    Jen M.

    • May 25, 2011 5:46 pm

      Hi Jen,
      Thanks! I realize I gave a bit of the wrong impression. It will be a personal blog, but I will continue to keep it open and public. I just won’t write about the things that I can’t. 🙂

      I really appreciate the sentiments. Thank you for thinking of me and thank you for reading.

  5. May 25, 2011 4:44 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear about your dad. You and your family are in my thoughts hun.

  6. JessB permalink
    May 25, 2011 11:51 pm

    Oh honey, I’m sorry for your loss. I just don’t even have words. I’m sorry, that’s all.

    I love your writing, so I’ll read anything you put up here, personal, etiquette, shopping list,,, I think it’s all great.

    Sending you plenty of love, all the way from the other side of the world.

  7. Lydia permalink
    May 26, 2011 3:50 am

    I’m in the same club, hear where you are coming from – but think that this will be a great outlet for you too. And selfishly I’d like to keep hearing your stories. Hang on in there…

    The best advice I was given was to give myself time and space to grieve, and not to assume that because today is better than yesterday, that tomorrow will be better than today.

  8. May 26, 2011 4:45 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear about your Dad. I hope whatever you do going forward, you do for yourself. A blog should only ever be what you want it to be (and everyone else be damned! – easier said than done, I know, but still…) I’ll be looking forward to whatever you write.

  9. May 27, 2011 12:17 am

    My condolences.

Leave a Reply

