Skip to content

The more things change …

June 6, 2011

I can’t help but feel like I’m in a strange summer version of Groundhog’s Day. Every day feels a little different, but … I feel like I’m replaying certain scenes, over and over again.

The timelines is screwy, but last summer (or the summer before that?), soon after Frank left for Iceland, an old friend had reappeared in my life, and I had some weird mixed feelings about it (coda: Should have listened to my gut. That did not end well.)

Also last summer, I had a friend going through a tough breakup and figuring out what her new life was going to be like, and to top it all off, some asshole threw a dog from a car, and I was frantically trying to find a foster home for the pup.

Well, Frank left for Iceland on Friday. And because apparently there are no new stories in the naked city, I find myself in the same situation.

A close friend called off her wedding and I’m doing the best I can to support her.

My long lost best friend heard about my dad from another old friend (who ran into another old friend at the Israel Day parade while walking her dog) and tracked me down and called me.

The dog from last summer? Her adoptive parents have decided to move and leave the dog behind. I am once again looking for a home for this sweet dog who can’t catch a break. She’s now housebroken, spayed and kid-tested and approved!  Help? Know anyone who can give her a good, forever home?

I ended up speaking to Kathy (the aforementioned, previously long lost friend) for awhile tonight. I have no idea what will happen with us in the future, but we made tentative plans to get together soon. She has an 8-month old baby, and I’d love to meet him. I don’t think we will ever be what we were, but I already feel better about where we are now.

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2011 2:20 pm

    Oh, no! I’m so sorry about the doggie! 😦 Why did they leave her behind?

    What city are you and the dog located in? I can post an appeal to Facebook, if you want. It doesn’t guarantee anything, but it might help. 😦

    Good luck with your friend! (The long lost one.)

    • June 7, 2011 2:59 pm

      Thanks Jen! They are leaving her behind because he is being transferred, and the job will pay for housing, but doesn’t allow dogs.

      Both the dog and I are in NYC. I’m willing to drive her anywhere in the tri-state area if it helps! Anything you can do helps!

  2. June 7, 2011 3:18 pm

    Ok. Can I post this blog entry to Facebook, or would you rather I wrote up a new post for Facebook?

    Again, I can’t guarantee it would do much, but people would see it. I have a lot of FB friends who are animal rescue contacts.

    Such a shame her family couldn’t take her. 😦

    • June 7, 2011 3:22 pm

      Whatever you think would work! I want to do whatever I can to help this dog out. She is really incredibly sweet and loving and freakin’ adorable.

  3. June 7, 2011 4:26 pm

    Ok. Linking here would be easiest, but I wanted to ask first.

    She’s beautiful!

  4. June 10, 2011 7:37 pm

    Ugh, I wish I could! No way my rents would go for it. If you need help transporting her, I’m in Westchester and would be happy to help!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

