Skip to content

Okay drama, I’ve had enough.

June 8, 2011

My dad’s mom, my beloved Grandma Mamasheina, can never seem to catch a break. In the past decade she’s buried her husband of 53 years, and her two children. My father, less than a month ago. She’s the toughest lady I’ve ever met, but I have no idea how she is handling this. I mean, I do know, because I call all the time – but it’s tough. That and she’s a diabetic with neuropathy, she’s legally blind (macular degeneration) and has been battling depression for about 50 years. It ain’t easy being her. Or being her granddaughter.

We’re doing all we can to support her, but I’d really, really love her to move up to New York. She won’t. It’s so frustrating, because everyone she loves, who loves her, and is still alive – is up here.

This past week she’s had high blood pressure and shortness of breath. She went into the hospital last night. It appears to be the same thing that I went down there last year for. Some sort of blockage, possibly controllable with medication, although she may need a pacemaker. I’ll know more soon.

Incidentally, she has some visitors. You see, my cousins are down there, mainly to visit her and help her out – but to visit their own mother (Aunt Dot)  as well, and some other friends. Why is this weird? These are my maternal cousins. But also my dad’s best friends. This is what happens when your parents meet as teenagers. I’m never quite sure what branch of the tree anyone really falls on.

I’m happy they are down there now, but I’m at a loss for what to do when they come  home.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2011 12:25 pm

    I don’t want to turn this into a PSA, but I have something that might help. I’m not sure if you’ve ever mentioned where your Grandma lives, but a lot of areas have reading services for legally blind people where they can hear the daily paper, ads, etc. Usually they loan the person a little, easy to use radio and they can hear whatever their daily schedule is. Its really nice for those times that the family is not there because it keeps them connected to their community and provides them with lots of news to talk about when the family is able to make it!

    • June 8, 2011 1:21 pm

      Hi! Thanks so much. Grandma actually does use the services of a “Lighthouse Center for the Blind” and she lives in a really awesome independent-living place. (I don’t know much longer she can afford it, but that’s a separate issue.)

      So, she’s connected and cared for, and kept busy most of the time. It’s stuff like being with her family out for dinner, or when these medical issues happen. She should be with the people who love her, ya know?

      But in terms of daily, keepin-busy stuff? She’s covered.

Trackbacks

  1. Oh, I didn’t tell you about Grandpa? — You Should Only Know
  2. I really can’t win — You Should Only Know

Leave a Reply

