Skip to content

Counterpoint Weekend

June 26, 2011

Last weekend was filled with sadness and woe, but this weekend turned out remarkably better.

Eva had surgery to repair her knee on Wednesday, and is making an awesome, albeit expensive recovery. She’s been at my mom’s house all week (because mom has no stairs) and despite the shame of having to wear a post-surgery collar, she’s doing great. Mom and my sister have been taking great care of her.

Eva modeling her Victrola-style Cone of Shame

 

So wonderful is the care that I felt comfortable leaving her in their hands while I went to D.C. for the weekend. My friends Abel and Dela were getting married, and I really, really didn’t want to miss it.

I took the Tripper Bus from Penn Station to Arlington and it dropped me off pretty much at my hotel.  (I would definitely recommend this bus line. Clean, professional, $25 each way, wi-fi and an outlet in every row.) I checked in, battled my anxiety enough to manage to explore and find food, and had a nice quiet evening to myself. It turns out, I love the Arlington area! I enjoyed my swanky hotel room and watched My Big Fat Gypsy Wedding and two episodes of “Say Yes to the Dress: Big Bliss.” Of course, one of them featured a girl who had just lost her dad, so I had a good, long cry.

But in even more exciting wedding news? New York done good. I celebrated on Twitter and Facebook with the rest of equality lovers everywhere when I found out that in a display of shocking sanity – Gay marriage passed!!

The next day was the wedding. I’ve had the wonderful fortune to attend two really wonderful weddings in the past few months. I love weddings in general, and I’m an unabashed crier. It’s just … I’ve known Abel about 6 years, and he is just truly one of these amazingly wonderful people. I really can’t think of a negative thing to say about him. He’s just an all around mensch. And to see him find someone as wonderful and as nicely suited to him as Dela? I mean, that’s something that’s special and wonderful. And I am so happy I got to celebrate with them.

Something extra cool about the wedding? Abel is Liberian and Dela is a mixture of Kenyan and Ghanian. I don’t think I’ve ever been to a wedding that wasn’t either Jewish or Greek Orthodox. It was so, so cool to see these amazing African headdresses and outfits. I was very, very jealous. And apparently the Liberian equivalent of the hora is something called the Grand March. I’m pleased to announce I am an excellent Grand Marcher.

All that, AND I got to make new friends and see some old ones, including my beloved Gabe who was the co-Best Man. I haven’t seen him in ages because he moved to Australia. We hung out, we drank, we ate, we went swimming. All together awesome.

The only bummer was that I was supposed to meet up with Alison of Ask A Manager fame, but a last-minute flu means we’ll have to delay our inevitable joining of forces. The world just wasn’t ready, apparently.

But wait – my weekend isn’t over yet!

On Sunday morning, my former colleague and now friend, Bart invited myself and my aunt to go for a plane ride! Bart is an instrument-rated commercial pilot and a volunteer pilot for Angel Flight and wanted to take the plane out for a spin. I was a little apprehensive, given that bad luck has been following me, but I just couldn’t resist. And my aunt, being an aviation geek, was game. Bart picked me up, we rode in his fancy convertible and got to catch up before meeting my aunt at the airfield.

This is a tiny, tiny plane.

We had a really awesome time. It was the perfect end to a really nice weekend. I’m so lucky to have such wonderful people in my life.

I got back just in time for the bus ride home, assured my mother I was alive, napped,  hopped on the subway (planes, trains and automobiles!) and then called it a day.

And because I had such a great weekend, I leave you with this link: Animals Being Dicks. I have been guffawing.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2011 2:56 pm

    DC is glad you had a good time! 🙂 (I’m up in Maryland.)

    I’m also really glad you are enjoying the GOOD things in life right now. You’ve earned it!

    Finally, Eva is adorable in her cone! LOL! I’m glad she’s recovering well.

    • June 27, 2011 3:01 pm

      Thanks! DC was a wonderful host. I really loved the whole area.

      The weekend was well-deserved 🙂 And I definitely tempted Fate with that plane ride, just to make sure! Thanks.

Trackbacks

  1. Making a Wish To Be Less Cranky — You Should Only Know

Leave a Reply

