Skip to content

Things I’m Not Writing About

September 20, 2011

It got quiet ’round these parts, huh?

It’s because my life got all wrapped around two pretty major things, and I didn’t want to, or couldn’t write about either one. But, the dust has settled a bit and I want to tell you what I won’t be writing about.

My Job

I got a new job. No, that isn’t deja vu. It’s a new, new job. Turns out, my previous company wasn’t exactly the land of milk and honey. And I learned some valuable, important lessons about trusting your gut and looking before you leap. And a whole host of other lessons that just aren’t appropriate to write about right now. And maybe not ever. But I did meet some great people in the process. But, after about 5 months, I resigned from my job and took another position.

I think all’s well that ends well, and today was my second day at the new gig.  It’s a giant organization and while they know I blog, this position has the potential to be high profile and I’m going to err on the side of caution and not name it. But, I’m working in internal communications for a giant healthcare system in the region. Of course, I have some reservations and my job-seeking confidence is totally shot, but it looks like it could be right up my alley, and has a lot of great opportunity. And some awesome benefits. So, we’ll see where this adventure takes me.

On the brighter side, among the lessons I learned was that this kind of thing (leaving a job after only a few months) happens to people. In fact, it happened to two of the people I consider mentors and role models. So, that was cool. And seriously, if you ever need an ego boost? Ask your friends and colleagues to serve as references for you.  You get to hear some really cool stuff about yourself.

But, for those of you playing the home game – let’s recap! In the last six months: I left my job of six years, my dad passed away, I started a new job, went to Iceland, got engaged, quit my new job and started a new job on a different career path.

It’s never dull.

The Wedding

This is the other thing I’m not writing about. It kinda took over my brain. There are so many awesome, amazing communities and blogs, not only for inspiration – but for people like me. Women who are excited to plan a wedding, but want something different; who have some mixed feelings about wanting to honor some traditions and have a wedding and wear a white gown, but have issues with the whole wedding industry and anti-feminist roots of some of those traditions. Namely, the communities at both Offbeat Bride and A Practical Wedding have been really wonderful.

But there are a LOT of blogs. And part of me can’t believe I’m not blogging about my own wedding. All the DIY crafts, the insanity of decision paralysis, the minute details that no one cares about? The blogosphere does! So, why am I not making this a wedding blog? Why am I not starting another wedding blog, or participating in a group blogging project like WeddingBee or Budget Savvy Bride?

A few reasons.

  1. I simply don’t have the time.
  2. A good chunk of my regular readers will be invited to the wedding. I don’t want to spoil any fun surprises!
  3. Some people I know and love and want to be there, won’t be invited to our relatively small wedding. I just simply can’t afford it. And it almost feels wrong to put all of this out there.
  4. As much as I love reading and consuming these blogs, I’m simply not feeling compelled to share.
  5. I sometimes hate the people who share. As in, “Seriously lady? The most meaningful thing your new husband did for you on your wedding day was upgrade to chiavari chairs?” (Yes, I know what chiavari chairs are now.)
  6. I think not writing about the wedding is the best way for me to avoid obsessing about the wedding. It’s so easy to get sucked down the bridal bunny hole.
  7. Blogging may invite drama. And I am still getting weekly emails asking how to remove a bridesmaid from your wedding party. I’m all full up on the drama!

Keep in mind, the wedding is still about a year away. This all may change the closer we are to the date, but for now? I’m content with making lists, and pinterest boards and emailing my sister.

So, that’s what’s been going in my life.

What about you, people? Spill it. What have I been missing?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2011 10:19 pm

    I burned myself horribly with steam. Like horribly. Second-degree, taking forever to heal, huge wound. Stay away from steam.

    That’s all I’ve got. Your life is a lot more exciting than mine.

    • September 20, 2011 10:22 pm

      Ugh. I’ve yet to disfigure myself. Give it time. How is that healing?

  2. September 20, 2011 10:26 pm

    I have surrounded myself with a huge stash of bandages, gauze, and bacitracin. It is ridiculous.

Trackbacks

  1. Control Freak: Bridal Edition — You Should Only Know
  2. Control Freak: Bridal Edition — You Should Only Know

Leave a Reply

