Skip to content

Weekend Bookended by Cheese

November 6, 2011

It’s Sunday evening, and I’m pretty confident in calling this weekend a success. Life has been hectic lately with the new job and the wedding planning and just … life. This weekend was marked by being one of the last weekends before “Holiday Madness” begins, and I spent a good deal of it sleeping.

As in, I slept until noon (with a brief dogwalking bout of wakefulness on Saturday) until noon, both days. That’s almost unprecedented.

The weekend began on Friday night when we went out to celebrate my friend Rachel’s birthday. She’s had kind of a rough year, so it was nice to get together and do something fun in her honor, and hopefully usher in some more fun times ahead. And we had the perfect ingredients including a bunch of 8, fun, happy girls and a restaurant that specializes in cheese. We went to Artisanal Bistro, which is a place I’ve been hoping to check out for awhile.  This is one of the best nights out I’ve had in a long time, and we really had a great time, and laughed a lot. And that may or may not have anything to do with the fact that we had two pots of fondue (cheese and chocolate), a billion delicious appetizers, some yummy entrees, 4 bottles of wine and six desserts.  I’m pretty sure this place is going to become a regular for my friends for a long time.  My goal is to one day dine in the Cheese Cave.

Saturday, after I woke up from my slumber, Frank and I crossed one of the few errands on my list off (weekly library trip) and had a nice brunch together. Something we haven’t always done, but have been trying to do lately. Mainly because by the time Saturday rolls around there’s no food left in the house to make breakfast. Then, I met up with my sister and we crossed off the other items on my “must do” list (get milk and pick up prescriptions.) I spent some quality time with her, and then headed over to my friend Elana’s house with our friend Michelle to hang out with her and 8-week old Jillian. We drank some more wine, ate cookies and made signs for her husband Michael, to encourage him as he ran in the NYC marathon today (run, Michael run!).

I went home, slept until noon today (see a theme?) and then literally did nothing. I accomplished nothing. I didn’t even read. In fact, I’m not sure what I did from noon until now, except for hang out with Frank, play on the internet and finally watch the season premiere of Bones. (Oh my god, how adorable is Booth? Except no mention of Parker?)

Now I’m headed off to Frank’s parents house for … macaroni and cheese. At some point tonight I’m going to attempt an at-home manicure, pack for tomorrow’s business trip to Atlanta and maybe get some freelance done. But man, oh man – I really needed this weekend of doing nothing except for relaxing. And sleeping. And eating cheese. And apparently drinking a lot of wine.

One Comment leave one →
  1. JessB permalink
    November 9, 2011 7:28 am

    Erica, I know how you feel. I had a gorgeous day of nothing last Sunday, and It was just what I needed, and totally awesome. I loved it, and it really prepared me for a big week this week. Good on you for looking after yourself.

Leave a Reply

